JFK & Dallas: 50 Years Ago

5 comments

  1. Great piece, as always, Laurie!

    Now to fill you in on a few pieces of information from ‘my side of the story’ that I’m not sure I ever shared with you when we worked together at KTRH-AM.

    I was 6 years old and in first grade at University Park Elementary School in Dallas. My parents took me out of school for the day so that I could see the POTUS. My parents – both staunch Republicans – still felt it was their patriotic duty to welcome the POTUS to the city of Dallas. I distinctly remember my father saying “Seeing the POTUS ‘in person’ is a big deal. You may never see a POTUS in person the rest of your life.” Little did my father know that I would become a reporter and see every POTUS ‘in person’ from 1977-2004.

    My parents and I stood at the corner of Lemmon Ave. and Inwood Road, just a couple of miles from Love Field, and watched the motorcade drive by. I waved at the Kennedys and the Connellys from my perch on the curbside in front of Friendly Chevrolet. To this day, I believe that Jackie waved back directly at me. After the motorcade passed, we returned home. My parents had purchased a stereo console a couple of weeks earlier and my father decided to turn it on and listen to the FM radio. When he turned it on all he got was ‘dead air’ on all the FM channels. He then turned it over to the AM band and the announcer on KRLD said something about President Kennedy being shot on the streets of downtown Dallas. My father walked down the hall of our house and yelled out “The sons of bitches finally did it!” and then punched a hole in the wall. He thought the Russians had shot the POTUS to start WWIII.

    The next couple of days I was glued in front of our television set watching everything that was being reported and I believe that is what influenced me to go into news reporting as a career (even though I’ve now left that field). When I returned to Dallas in 2004, I began reconnecting with lots of friends from my school days. One of them is Martha Nichols whose father was H. Louis Nichols. He was a highly-respected attorney in Dallas and he is the ONLY attorney who spoke to Lee Harvey Oswald while he was in the Dallas city jail. If you watch the PBS documentary about how the events of those days forever changed the news business, you’ll see him talking about speaking to Oswald. If Oswald had gone to trial, there was a very good possibility that Mr. Nichols would have been his court-appointed attorney. Martha has told me that her mother began packing suitcases for Martha and her brother so that they could go stay with relatives who did not live in Dallas because Mr. Nichols had already started receiving ‘death threats’ in the likelihood that he would defend Oswald at trial.

    My wife Betsy and I have discussed the events of that day quite often. She also attended University Park Elementary School but was in class that day. However, her mother and her aunt were also standing on Lemmon Ave. watching the motorcade drive by. For all I know they could have been only a few feet away from me. I also went to school with Bruce Shipp (he would later become my roommate and fraternity brother at Sam Houston State) whose father was Bert Shipp, the assignments editor at WFAA-TV Ch. 8 (ABC) in Dallas. Mr. Shipp was the first person that Abraham Zapruder approached about developing his now-famous film. Bert writes in great detail about this fateful encounter in his book “Details at 10” that was published in the past year. I highly recommend that anyone who is a ‘news buff’ or who has been in the news business read “Details at 10”. Mr. Shipp has an unedited copy of the Zapruder film. When Bruce and I were in high school, Bruce would take the film ‘out of wraps’ on the Kennedy assassination anniversary and show it to anyone who would come over to his house and had ‘the guts’ to watch Frame 313.

    This annual observance built up over the years to the point that our senior year Bruce decided to ‘recreate’ the assassination on the street in front of the Shipps’ house complete with someone firing off a blank gun from the second floor window of their house. For years and years, Bruce held strong to the ‘conspiracy theory’ surrounding the Kennedy assassination.

    Then something odd happened. Bruce became involved in the development of The Sixth Floor Museum near Dealey Plaza. And now – because of all the research and documentation that’s on display in the museum – Bruce believes that only one person was responsible for Kennedy’s death: Lee Harvey Oswald.

    One last note: my father worked at a car dealership near downtown Dallas. There were nights that he would ‘work late’. Years later he confessed to me that those nights were when he would frequent some of the local bars (this is when I discovered his alcoholism) and one of them was The Carousel across the street from the Dallas Police Department headquarters. The same Carousel that was owned by Jack Ruby. We were all watching the TV at my grandmother’s house in Waco when Ruby shot Oswald. When he was shown on TV my father said “I know that guy!” Now I know why.

    Like you, Laurie, there are 3 days that stick out in my mind as ‘life-changing’ events: the JFK assassination, the space shuttle Challenger disaster and the terrorist attack on the United States on 9/11. I pray to God that there won’t be any others.

    Peace be with you and Happy Thanksgiving.

  2. I live in New Zealand, and was not even born when President Kennedy was assassinated. However, I find this subject fascinating and my fascination with it somewhat morbid. Although his death happened 8 years before I was born, somehow, I too think the world changed after this, A loss of innocence or something similar that I can’t quite put my finger on. This is one of the finest pieces I’ve read on the subject to date. Thanks for sharing.

And now, you may opine your ass off...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.