Gettin’ Metaphysical, Ya’ll

Permit me to get a little spiritually trippy with this post, if I may.

Today is the first Friday of Lent and a gentleman friend and I were debating whether in true Catholic Lenten tradition, we can eat meat on Fridays or not.  I know that used to be the case, even after Vatican II blew the “no meat” Fridays out of the (Holy) water.    But I haven’t been a very good  Catholic in a very long time and while I knew this past Wednesday was Ash Wednesday, which kick starts Lent, I didn’t go to Mass, nor did I schlep around the house contemplating what to give up for the next 40 days.   I didn’t forget about is, as much as I just blew it off.

That makes me bad, right? 

Greetings Cerberus.  Guess I’ll pat all three of your heads on my way through the sulphuric gates of Hell!!!

The debate we had, for some reason, made me realize that I’m in one of those strange places mentally.   We hung up the phone and I  had to come to terms with the fact that I’m like everybody else most of the time:  there’s more going wrong in my life, then that which is going right, but I have this unshakable feeling that feeling that it’s supposed to be this way because very soon, the proverbial slate will be wiped clean.  I view my life, and again, I don’t know why, it’s as if any minute, it’s going to turn into one of those plastic paper savers known as Magic Slates. 

Remember these things from when we were kids?

You could write on it by pressing down the red plastic lead-less  “pencil” that came with it, and the pressure  applied to the gray plastic cover into the soft, black sheet below and it looked as though you were drawing on the sheet.   But you weren’t.  If you lifted the sheet, VOILA!!   The drawing disappeared.  The slate was clean.

I feel like I’m very written on these days.  And if I look at my life in terms of a Magic Slate, I have a helluva lot of different handwriting represented.   You can make it out in between scribblings in my own hand.    But just as it was when I was a kid, I have the power to lift the sheet to clean the slate.  

And soon, I will.

I have always been able to sense change and I feel it surging in the offing.   It’s waiting for the right time to come in and change my life from late summer to very early fall.   Ordinarily that prospect would make me cringe.  Now?  Not so much.  I’ve always loved the fall.    It’s my favorite time of the year.   The spring was always too delicate;  the summer was always too hard.  

The fall is like this delightful melding of both. 

Still,  what’s out there is brimming with the unknown.  While intriguing, confronting whatever that is can also be scary.    Very scary so, when I should have been at work promoting capitalism and free enterprise this afternoon,  I was on the Internet looking up things that might help me put a label on whatever it is I’m feeling.  I happened upon something called “Quantum Jumping”, a concept conceived by Burt Goldman, a self-described, ,”world-renowned meditation master, a spiritual coach and mind power expert.”

This was taken from the Quantum Jumping website. 

Every decision you make in life causes a “split” in reality…

Which in turn creates two alternate universes—one where the current version of you is today, and another with the version of you who made a different choice. Now think about your life.

Think about all the decisions you’ve made that led to who you are today. If all these decisions caused a split in your reality, each time creating a new version of yourself in a parallel universe who also goes on to make a certain set of choices thereby splitting their reality, you can begin to imagine the infinite versions of yourself that exist.   Now imagine what you could accomplish if you could somehow tap into these alternate universes to meet and learn from these alternate versions of yourself. Imagine the wisdom you’d learn. The opportunities you’d recognize, the skills you’d acquire, and the pitfalls you’d know to avoid.

By meeting these alternate selves, you’d essentially be tapping into an endless universal sea of knowledge and experience. But how, might you be asking, does one access these alternate realities?

 That’s where Quantum Jumping comes in.

Well, I didn’t read enough to even pretend to make a comment pro or con about Quantum Jumping, but I can tell you what I think it is that I believe and here’s where the Benedictine nuns who taught me catechism are rolling in their graves.

I believe that we have many versions of our life that we can choose to live but all of these are within the confines of whatever our personal reality happens to be.   It can be gauged by your energy…be it positive or negative.  It’s the vibe  you send out and what actually attracts the same energy back to you.   That has an incredible bearing on the kind of people who come into your life and how you’re treated.  That said, I truly believe there’s more to the laws of attraction than that which we learned in Freshman physical science class.  For humans, we have far more control over the laws of attraction and other aspects of our life, than we think. 

Let me expound upon that.  

A few years ago, I had the pleasure of interviewing Doreen Virtue on a Saturday night radio show I hosted that focused on the metaphysical and supernatural.   Virtue  contends that at any one given time, we have movies of our lives playing at the in the theaters in our minds all at the same time and like Sybil got to pick and choose which personalities she could retain when Dr.Wilbur introduced them to her, we can do the same thing.  We get to (and often without our even knowing it)  choose the movie we want to watch/appear in and that which we want the world to view.   There’s the  happy movie, the sad, tragic one…the adventure…the romantic comedy…even a decent who done it.    We get to star in each one but  we have to align ourselves with the movie we choose as our vehicle.   If we align ourselves to a  ‘better’ movie (READ:   a better plot, outstanding performances, more likeable characters) the more elevated and positive our consciousness will be.

As much as I’d like to believe we could all follow Scott Bakula on to an NBC soundstage and then run into the middle of this big  Accelerating Chamber and be surrounded by trippy squiggly  lines and snazzy mini lightning bolts surging in and out of our armpits before going back in time,  that’s not possible.     We can’t jump back in time or through the universe, parallel or otherwise, leaping into other people’s bodies, in order to “put right what once went wrong”.   As humans, we simply aren’t afforded that luxury.

Look at the evolution of  your own life and all that you had to endure to get from Point A to Point C.    Perhaps you were on drugs at one time…maybe you were at one time, broke as hell or worse, broken in spirit and very depressed.  Perhaps you had a horrible marriage and the break up left you broken.  Maybe you ate your way to contentment and became obese and homebound.   Whatever the obstacle was, you overcame it.   And as as result, you can now look at your life in a that was then, this is now scenario.   That means,  life can be placed in two separate still frames.   You can see the differences.  Your life was very different then, and so are you…but to a degree, you’re still the same person— just better; more together.   You endured two realities in the same lifetime, the same reality.  As Virtue says, you did the work to change the starring role in a different movie. 

Now, THAT’S a real quantum leap, if you ask me./;

3 comments

  1. I like that you said point A to point C. I think Mobius would agree.

    *

    Ooooooof. I love it when you get all Euclidian on me.

    Miss you.

    LK

  2. Laurie, I’m always entertained by your meanderings through the word gardens, but on occasion, I’m completely blown away. This has been one of those times. What excellent insights you have presented and I fully intend to use them in my counseling practice… helping people move from point A, to point C .

    I also might mention that one of my favorite art prints (this one with his chop placed by the master) is Dali’s Cerberus hanging in my office. Interesting!

    *

    I have just been paid the pentultimate compliment. Thank you, GM. Thank you very much.

    Best,
    LK

  3. Well, lookee here at’chu bein’ all smart an’ stuff! I’d never’a knowed ya, Prunella!

And now, you may opine your ass off...

