Your Early Christmas Present

The ubiquitous ‘they’ say that imitation is the most sincere form of flattery….

Perhaps but when it’s Will Farrell and John C Reilly doing the imitating, it’s always funny.   

I didn’t know about the now famous David Bowie “Peace On Earth/Little Drummer Boy” duet with Bing Crosby until about 20 years.  Growing up, I wasn’t much on Christmas specials, save for Rudolph, Charlie Brown and The Grinch.  As a teen when this aired, I was too cool for a Bing and family Christmas special and even though I listened to Space Oddity till the grooves in the LP were flattened,  I never even knew this was out there. 

But here’s the video with Bing and David as it aired in ’75  (I think) and as parodied by Will and John.  

Watch it its entirety…you’ll be glad you did.

And YOU’RE WECOME!!!!

/

2 comments

  1. I couldn’t get this to play…will look at it on YouTube. I saw this on TV last night…I don’t really remember this little piece either… I must of been on a hot date that night!

  2. I saw this the night it first aired. I was in junior high at the time and most definitely not on a hot date.

    I was home watching this with my Mom and sister. The first thing that came to my mind was what an odd, odd pairing for a Christmas special. The second thing that hit me was how forced and uncomfortable it looked. The third thing that got me was when Bowie mentioned having a son.

    I turned to my Mom and said “He’s got a son? No, way! Really?”

And now, you may opine your ass off...

