I’m Heading North

And by north, I mean to Branson, Missouri.

Yes, you read that right. 

From what I’ve read, Branson has something for everyone. Magicians for the family, rock ‘n’ roll, country, family harmonies, comedy, variety, dinner shows, gospel, and well-known performers that play limited engagements. You may not have known that Branson has more theater seats than Broadway.

The area has some wonderful museums and attractions. You can take your family to play miniature golf, enjoy go-carts, water parks, and history museums. You can see the Titanic and even stop at the famous College of the Ozarks.

Uh…maybe, but I won’t.

I’m going up to spend to quality time with a woman who the kids would call my “BFF”.  Her husband is out-of-town for a while and I’ve been summoned to keep her company.    We shall wreak as much mayhem as our combined 95 years can wreak in a town where 95 is still considered young.

But all things considered, I’ll fit right in.  My sporadic gray hairs, mixed with all those Blue Hairs, plus ancient applications of Aqua Net should create for some kind of “bet your sweet azure” fun.

So, I’m taking all this recent ‘change’ in my life and leaving Houston for a few days.  I need to.  It’s important to breathe different air every once in a while.   And that which I’ll fill my lungs with that hangs above a place that’s in the shadow of all those Ozarkian hillbillies seems like the perfect place.  Besides, I’m itchin’ to do something different in a place that’s so different.  As a native Texan, I get tired of all the redneck joke and have elected to rag other people for their  geographic locales. 

Is it right?  Is this a mature attitude?

No, but it makes me feel better.

So, I’ll be back next week…perhaps with a bunch of critters; maybe with a few youngins’ hangin’ off each now pendulous teat and maybe even a hankerin’ to eat in the billy-yard room or take a mooonshine-fueled swim in a see-ment pond.

But before I go, I think I owe it to my Missouri host to brag a a little on her behalf.   Mel loves dog and has acquired three new ones;  hound dogs that are indigenous to the Ozarks. 

I’d like for you to meet Larry and his brother Darrell and his other brother, Darrell.

An oldie, but goodie....

3 comments

  1. I enjoyed Bransom very much. My sister and I took our mom there as a Mother’s Day treat (for all of us). Had a wonderful time, hope you will, too!
    Hugs and safe journey,
    Mel

  2. I’ve never been to Branson, but have heard there is so much to do. My late mother was from Piedmont, MO – VERY small town near the Ozarks – she used to call herself a hillbilly. LOL!

And now, you may opine your ass off...

