My Heart Is Broken

I just learned that my friend, my comedic mentor, my radio father….my biggest pain in the ass….the man who taught me so fucking much, has died.

Mark Stevens, the other half of one of the most influential and best known FM Morning radio shows in the history of broadcasting, The Stevens and Pruett Show on Rock 101 KLOL, has died.  He left this earthly studio for that big On Air light in the sky.  He was at his at home here in Houston and it happened in his sleep—on his  own terms—at 6:30 this morning.

I’ll write up an official blog post on it later tonight.  Please check back after 9pm (CST), but for now you’ll have to excuse me, I have mascara that needs running.

Rest in peace, Mark.  The world of entertainment radio has lost a giant.

And I swear, I’ve lost a little piece of my soul.

.

7 comments

  1. I heard the bad news Laurie. So sad. Mark will never be forgotten. I had so much fun on the show. The Holiday Balls were a gas.

    Loved all you folks. God Bless…

    Mirty

  2. Laurie,

    Your words ring true.

    Mark was a hard man but when he liked you, it made you feel really special. I looked up to him tremendously and it killed me when they got rid of him the heartless way they did.

    My brief fringe association with The S&P Show contains some of best, and definitely the raciest, memories of my life.

    I still miss the show and I will definitely miss Mark.

    God Bless.

  3. Well we have suffered a loss, and he will be missed. Me being an orginal Hippie of the Houston area, jeans, t-shirt, and sandals, and don’t forget the POT!

  4. Laurie,

    I am in shock over this. I have my memories of him and all I can say aside from my shock is that I feel such a loss too..such words cannot exactly say.

  5. Hello Laurie,

    What a great piece about Mark.

    My son called me from Houston this morning (I live in Albuquerque, NM now) to tell me the sad news…I was in a complete daze all day long.

    I spent a lot mornings in the KLOL studio sitting next to Mark and Jim with a handful of my earliest attempts at writing comedy. I was pretty awful at it in the beginning, but I’ve spent many years now doing stand up as well as writing for other comedians. It was Mark who took a risk and actually read some of my early stuff on the air. On rare occasions I even got a laugh out of him. When this happened it was like a comedy blessing from the Pope.

    Mark gave me the encouragement that so few people get in comedy. He also is responsible for setting up my first open mike performance at the Laff Stop on West Gray. That night I shared the stage with another amateur named Ralphie May.

    Mark (as well as Jim and Brian Shannon) had an incredible and unforgettable impact on my life…I’ll never forget them.

    Tom Schifani

And now, you may opine your ass off...

