We Just Disagree

.

1977.

It was the 77th year of the 20th century; the seventh of that turbulent decade called “The Seventies” and a fairly unremarkable year for me personally;  save for the fact that I graduated from high school and started college–and did both of those things in one, very brief 48 hour period.

That fall, I remember driving down Guadalupe or as it’s affectionally known, “The” Drag, a street which runs parallel to the 40 acres in Austin which comprises the original University of Texas campus.  That’s where I first heard “We Just Disagree”.

Beautiful song and I found the lyrics meaningful.    I think I remember driving straight to a record store and bought the album. 

 “Let It Flow” was an incredible production.   I played it often that semester.

Thirty three years later, they’re still meaningful.   Recently,  I econnected with a man who I had allowed to impact my life for a great portion of  my life; 38 years worth of impact, in fact.  

And as I got to know the man this boy had become, I started realizing that I had spent wello ver half of my life relishing the  memory of a relationship that a little girl had idealized.    I started to see the warts I had conveniently chosen to ignore.  But with eyes wide open I finally saw them in all their ugly glory.  They had become too big, too apparent and hardly anything the woman I had become, could deal with.

Or wanted to deal with.

I realized that we reconnected, solely for me to disconnect.   When he asked me to explain why I wanted to sever ties, I told him without thinking that “we’d grown up differently”.

Because we had.  

That night, while listening to the Sirius radio that comes with my satellite subscription, I heard that classic Dave Mason song and it resonated with me again.   Perhaps even more so this time.

I did a little You Tubing and found this rendition that Dave performed while appearing on the “Bob and Tom Show” a few years ago. 

It’s lovely.

.

Life is funny, you know.   

We live in a cynical world and that’s often because we’re too scared to be optimistic.   Why?  Well, because the other shoe drops all too often; there’s more heartache than good.   But we live this cynical existence knowing that nothing lasts forever.   That’s our saving grace.  We know, whether we admit it or not, that everything is fleeting.

And as the paradigm shifts, we realize the conundrum this  creates.  We often have to catch in order to release;  we have to move two steps backwards in order to move forward;  we often have to let go of others to get a better handle on ourselves. 

And after it’s all said and done, when it’s over,  you feel empty.  What was there for so long,  suddenly isn’t.  It’s awkward;   it’s different–uncomfortable perhaps, but ultimately, you know you’ll be OK.  

Nothing lasts forever… not even the voids.   Something else or someone else, always comes along to fill in the blanks.  It’s an unavoidable fact of life, but to expedite this, we have to be open to change and we must be resilient in its wake.   Not always easy, but vital.

Then again, this is my opinion.  If you think differently, then let’s agree that we just disagree.

Enjoy your week.

.

One comment

And now, you may opine your ass off...

