Things That Weigh Heavy On My Mind

.

TV ACCENTS

I like  “The Andy Griffith Show”–black and white versions only, thank you, but have you ever noticed that on this show, anyone NOT from Mayberry or neighboring Syler City always spoke as though they had Brooklyn accents?    Even if someone was  visiting from Raleigh,  he always sounded very New Yorkish.    Hhhh’mmm…..refresh my memory:  both Carolinas (before division) rooted for the gray team which represented the states south of the Mason-Dixon line, did they not????

FILMING IN 3-D

The movie, Avatar , which has broken all kinds of records when it made bofillions of dollars in the first hour in theaters, was filmed in 3-D.   And not that early 1950’s cheese fest 3-D which made the wrinkles and crevices in Vincent Price’s face look like a relief map of Appalachia.   Thsi is the new computer generated kind that I hear is awfully groovy.   I don’t know how 3-D is filmed but I would think the way its made would be fascinating.l   How do you give dimension and virtual tactility to film?    Also, I’ve discovered if you watch large screen TV with 3-D glasses on, you can also see a varied form of what you’re viewing in 3-D.   It only works in that which was filmed in color.   B&W don’t cut it.  Try it.  

Especially after having a few drinks.

THE MIRACLE OF FLIGHT

What really makes an airplane fly?  Yeah, I know it’s all about thrust and lift and speed, but those concepts confound me.   I don’t get flight,  especially when I watch the jet engine of a plane all heated up and creating it’s own friction, thus propulsion and I have to marvel at how the damn thing can fly.   God only knows how one of those HUGE military Hercules transports loaded with tons of equipment, jeeps and tanks bound for Iraq, can even roll along the runway, much less take-off and fly.   And think about this:  what really keeps these gigantic sons of bitches in the air?   How can a few big engines, a couple of flaps, a rudder, speed and a pilot defy gravity?

ALLERGIES

I’ve often questioned how allergens work to affect our bodies in such ways.  Congestion, hives, rashes, gastric distress, swollen body parts and even death in the most severe reactions.   Why can some people eat the hell out of peanuts and otherscan’t exist being anywhere in the presence of an open bottle or can?

ARACHNIDS IN THE SUPERFAMILY, IXODOIDEA WHICH CONSTITUTE THE ACARINA

In other words, ticks.

So, tell me…what purpose do ticks serve?  I mean really.  Do they eat aphids?   Do they create a delightful, human serving coagulant when they bite down?  One that can be harvested and turned into currency among the Inuits?    I think not.   I hate ticks and I hate raisins.  Therefore, ticks are unemployed raisins.   But I like grapes.  I only hate what dehydration does to them.

CHEERLEADING

Ah yes, my sisters in spirit,.  

Now, don’t get thy Hanes in a wad for what I’m about to say.   I was a cheerleader in Jr. High and High School, so were my sisters and so was the woman who’s uterus incubated me for the bulk of nine months.    But really, what purpose do these people really serve?   Can a football team win a game without their cheers and screams for “defense”?   Do basketball players actually stop in the seconds before throwing one from downtown  to see if a cheerleader is encouraging him enough to sink it with nuthin’ but net?   Or are they just eye candy for frustrated pervs and sources of envy for the rotund, female Almond Joy addict?    

I liked being a cheerleader because it required even more people to look at me and know my name.   I’ll admit it.  I dug being popular, but  being popular often lends itself to being even more disliked.   So, the question beckons –  cheerleaders:  generators  of spirit OR wanton exhibitionists???      

YOU DECIDE

cheer1…………cheer2

cheer3

Snatched these pics off the web.   HA!

THE CONCEPT OF GRAVITY AND THE NORTH AND SOUTH POLES

I mentioned gravity earlier when extolling my ignorance with flight. Just for a second, try wrapping your head around gravity.  As w discussed, planes defy it, buildings defy it…gymnasts, too but countries  and continents also spit in its face.  

Go get a globe.  I’ll wait.   

(Insert  ‘Jeopardy  ‘theme….)

What?  OK then, look at a photo of one.   Go look at the South Poll and explain that to me.  How is it that people walk upright while traipsing around on the ice  down there?   Then go up north a bit and take a gander at the southern most tip of  Chile:    Tierra del Fuego.    It’s more down under than Australia, yet people walk just fine.   They drive, walk, fly…they live perfectly good lives, save for the occasional junta driven coup d’tat.

I don’t get gravity. 

THE POWER OF PRAYER, BUT AT WHAT COST???

And what about prayer?   It’s a global activity.  We all do it in varied forms; sometimes it’s called wishing.  Others call it meditation.  But regardless of what we call it, can we actually take a good look around us and believe without a doubt,  that prayer works??  Is there always a catch involved?   Joy and jubilation for those who believe prayers are answered;  defeat and suffering for those with reason to believe their divine petitions were never even heard?

Believe it or not, the images below are all examples of answered prayers.

Someone prayed for a successful car bombing with casualties.  Why?  To vanquish the enemy.   Was the prayer granted?

prayer 1

Someone prayed that their son, brother, cousin, boyfriend would survive his second tour of duty in Iraq.

He didn’t.

Was the prayer unanswered?

soldier funeral

Some pray for love and find it.

prayer4

Americans have prayed to defeat the “Hun of the New Millenium”.  Send ’em to paradise to meet their 72 virgins.   

The mother of this son would’ve loved one more chance to hold her  eldest son.   He was shopping in a bazaar when it was struck my mortar fire.  

prayer3

prayer9 wedding

Nineteen hijackers prayed to Allah on the morning of September 11, 2001 for a successful jihad against the Great Satan of the West.    Just under three thousand people were killed in these attacks.

Prayers answered???

prayer5

And then we’ve all prayed for money at one time or another.  Nothing can be done without it and that’s just a fact of life. 

Some people earn it, others take it.  This wad of cash of stolen from a man shot and killed in the parking lot of a mall.   Hours earlier, his wife prayed that he’d be kept safe and sound as he ran errands that morning.  

He wasn’t   So, was  one prayer answered while the other one wasn’t? 

If we take all of these scenarios into considering, does prayer (in its simplest definition) really work?

I suppose that depends on what you pray for.

,

2 comments

  1. Ah, football and cheerleading… the modern incarnation of Viking pillaging.

    If our football team (tribal warriors) beat the other team, they will be rewarded with the finest honeys our meager village has to offer. Take a knee (pray to the war god), listen to your chieftain (coach), then go fight yourselves bloody to reclaim your territory (in-zone) for 60 minutes of combat (game time) as the women wail, the (marching band) drums beat, and the parents (spirits of your ancestors) scream from the stands.

    Yes, I played. Yes, I dated a cheerleader. No, I didn’t enjoy the game, because I didn’t run a good 40 yard dash, so I never got to handle the ball. I just did it because somewhere in my mind it was a manhood ritual. I was glad to be injured, twice, and have both seasons cut short. All that mattered was, I made the sacrifice.

  2. Sensei Rick speaks truth. Blood sacrifices for the fall Harvest God..all hail King Football!
    I knew better, even in seventh grade. So I became manager (two yrs JV, two years Varsity).
    Even though my dad had played 5-man all thru school, and even some semi-pro (Pasadena Pistols-
    68 season, 4 games/21 minutes on-field). he never once gave me grief for my decision. For which
    I am ever grateful. I’ve been witness to some of that reliving glory thru your children stuff, and it just seemed sad.
    Hell, I got the better deal- travel to all the games, rubbing shoulders with both the Band Kids & the Cheerleaders/Drill Team, public exposure, entry into the tail-gate party set; what wasn’t to like?
    I couldn’t run very fast, either.

And now, you may opine your ass off...

