“See You In Fucking Hell”

.

This is a video shot by U.S. Marines, pinned down on top of a building in the rubble that once was a city in Iraq.   The shooting back and forth had been going on for a while and the Marines felt it had become monotonous, so they decided it was time  to stop this nonsense.

Besides, they had other things to do.

They marked the sniper’s rooftop location opposite them with a smoke grenade to mark the target, then called for close air support.

A few minutes later, an F-16 from the 192nd Fighter Wing of the Virginia Air National Guard and provided what the Marines had requested.

Watch, listen….do it a couple of times.   Digest eveything.   Once you’ve done that, I want your honest reponse to what you’ve just witnessed.     Wha are your first emotions after  viewing this?    Good, bad, indifferent?   There’s no right or wrong response here.  I merely want to know what you think.  

Please click here.

.

22 comments

  1. Yes, Karol. Troops on the ground have persmission to request air cover or support. Now, view it again and tell me what your gut reactions are after watching this clip.

  2. One or more fewer bad guys left to cause trouble for Iraqi or US forces.

    I wish I had more sympathy for the monsters we are fighting against, but after hearing stories from Michael Yon and some fellows who have come back from tours in Iraq and Afghan, I have zero sympathy for their cause or actions. Would you feel bad about killing the guards at the Killing Fields of Cambodia or the Hanoi Hilton? I didn’t think so.

  3. Seemed too easy. Couldn’t we have done that all along instead of wasting time. lives and money over there? I don’t like killing but I was all for that solution.

  4. Just as with the death of the Somali pirates, it is sad that we may have been brought to celebrating the death of another human being. Still, when that opponent insists on the rule that “it is either us or them,” better them than us.

    Violence is the last defense of a civilized person, but it IS a defense and must sometimes be used.

    Let’s reframe this video. If this were a women about to be raped and murdered, and she succeeded in killing her attacker (and one watched a video clip of this happening) how would one feel?

  5. Kendrick, I have to admit I was rather surprised by my reaction to wathcing this video. If you want gut reactions, whatever they may be, then here you go.

    At first I silently cheered on the US as I would at any time and any place. I cheered our military technology, advanced to the point where it’s damned near pinpoint killing when and where need be.

    Then I read all the comments left here. I cheered as a kid when watching “the Lonest Yard”. I thought John Wayne at licked the Red Menace by his own true grit.

    That really hasn;t changed as an adult. I will also cheer for the USA, but that doesn’t make the fact that killing is taking place any easier. I suppose in some ways it does. I still honor my vow to protect the United States constitution to all enemies foreign and domestic and if my wife are daugther were raped, I’d damn sure be the first in line with my gun, but as I now know my time on the Earth is limited, even the justifiability of “killing” doesn’t make the fact there’s “killing” involved, any easier to take. Guess because I’m older. I’m retirned now and far less ruthless now than ever before. Maybe that happenes past a certain age.

    But admittedly I watched this video with some pride and yes, a little wistfulness. Sorry, can’t help it, LK.

  6. It watched as you requested LK and it brought up a serious moral dilemma that I’ve struggled with all my life.

    Is there an asterisk beside the Commandment that reads, “thou shalt not kill”?
    Murder is murder is murder, isn’t it?. And I know of no caveat that exists which allows for murder–unless the perp is a jihadist or God forbid ANYONE darker skinned. Does it exist? Someone please tell me if it does.

    We believe in the process of good over evil. Well, so does our enemies! As wrong as it might be, Muhujadine, kill because they despise Westerners and those who don’t worship as they do. To wrongs don’t make a right but would this video and our reaction to it be any different if the situation were reversed? If these were Iraqi extremists killing a GI and celebrating over that fact? How would we respond? They believe in their cause and in the rightness of thier cause just as much as we do with ours. Therefore, what gives them the right over us or vice versa?

    I’m a flag waving American and I love my country, but in the insanity of it all, get me befuddled. I don’t get the existentianlness behind what you’re asking me to watch.

    Can someone PLEASE tell me where killing begans and murder ends?

    How are the two any different?

  7. It’s ‘kill or be killed”. Sorry BuzzyB but that’s a sad but unavoidable fact of life.

    Death in all forms and fashions is a side affect of war and national defense. That’s just the way it is. That’s the way it’s always been.

    Go read the Bible. Yes of course there are the Ten Commandments, but the book itself is full of people who smite. It also includes stories of a God that smited. Interesting when you look at it from that perspective.

  8. Laur, I’m not sure if you were being facetious or what.

    As to the video, I had essentially the same reaction as the soldiers: Woot! Hell yeah!

    Hey, look – I deplore violence, and especially the senseless violence which is war. But I also believe that if you’re going to go to war, then you have to commit to winning it, or else you’re just throwing away lives for no reason.

  9. Man always has been, and always will be, in conflict. War is little more than the crowning acheivement of conflict. I defy anyone to bring forth supporting evidence that the enemy has any sort of moral dilemma with burying as many Americans as they can.

    The Middle East has been proven by history to be a wellspring of hatred and warring. If not for resources, then for political or religious reasons. What’s different this time around? Nothing.

    These are Marines being Marines. Would I cheer for the woman emasculating her rapist> You damn well better believe I would. I certainly don’t believe in killing just to kill. These guys were hammering away at a sniper. It was him, or one of them.

    Am I dancing with glee over it? No.

    Di I advocate going over and turning the whole friggin’ region into a giant parking lot? No.

    I an advocate of our boys coming home in one piece. IF that means removing harm from ones path, then so be it.

  10. If I had guys shooting at me all day and I had the power to have them blown up with the click of a button, I’d be saying HellYeah too. I don’t like the big picture or that we are there in the first place. But I don’t blame these guys for being purty excited about it all.

  11. As someone who was once married to a Vietnam Vet and is close to someone who has done more than one tour in Iraq, I know that soldiers have to develop a certain mentality in order to carry out the jobs they’re put forth to do. But I’ve also seen the effects on these same two men once they came home to civilian life and the memories of what they did remained. I guess I kinda have mixed emotions about it.

  12. If it’s kill or BE killed, you kill any way you can (you know, survival of the fittest and all that.) Still, while at first I felt pure glee over the perfect airstrike on these bad guys, when the soliers immediately began expressing THIER glee, I sort of pulled back on my own, just a little — for a millisecond. But I KNOW what that millisecond represented: One cannot apply the same rules of a civilized society — such as those we live by, here at home safe in the US — to the rules one is forced to live by IN A WAR SITUATION. The two do not compare. The soldiers’ glee was completely justified by the CONTEXT in which it was expressed. In a war environment, basic rules of decency are altered .. . giving some credence the old adage “All’s fair in love and war.”

  13. Correction: Make that Marines, not “soldiers!” Most Marines would be quite offended if referred to by any term other than their proper group name. Really. (I don’t live very far from Camp Pendleton.)

  14. My husband was in the army during the Viet Nam years and then became a police officer for 26 years after that. My son was a Marine and was sent to Croatia during the Desert Storm era and he too, is a police officer. Unless, a person (mainly a guy I suppose) has ever been in these positions and witnessed what they have, I believe it makes the rest of us unqualified to make a judgement. Now, we can each have opinions. I tell you, I am scared to death that one day (may be sooner than later) we will not have anyone brave and strong enough to step forward to defend our nation as we knew it. It is “changing” (thanks B.O.) to be point that we will not recognize it. I guess that’s what they want. I feel better sleeping at night knowing that at least as now, we still have a military and police effort that are trying to keep us safe. It is very sad that there have been centuries of wars-the bible says there will be. I pray for our troops and our police yet know that many will lose their lives so that the rest of us may have some semblance of peace. Words cannot express my appreciation to those who do risk their lives each day. I am proud of every one of them, including those Marines in the film. They are doing what they were trained to do-the rest is human reaction. This isn’t an easy life during or after serving their time but what if no one was willing to step forward and fight for us? Terrifies me……

  15. I’ll say this. We wouldn’t be over there in the first place if it hadn’t been for that idiot running our country for the past 8 years. But alot of people just can’t see this.

    My opinion.

    Amen!

  16. For Kathy:
    “We sleep soundly in our beds because rough men stand ready to visit violence on those who would do us harm.” — Churchill
    Thank God for men like your husband and son!

  17. Seems to me that we have had a lot of those “idiots” living in Washington and they are growing one right now. before. Everyone right to think and vote as they belive, unless our government changes to the point of not having these rigts. I like having the power that we once had-I don’t know “whose” fault it is that we are losing it. Our politians, including Obama, must think that they are doing the right things for us. Blaming the previous President and party is old and has always been a useless thing. The party who won will alwsys inherit problems and yes, possibly wrong decisions. If anyone has ever had someome in their life who by choice entered into the military or who has chosen police work, then I think possibly your feelings may differ from a more liberal approach in handling governmental problems. These are just my opinions as well as anyone else has. I pray for our country and the people who run it. Name calling has got to stop and inelligence needs to take over. Why would anyone want our country or President’s decisions to fail? Is that being American? This is where we have changed the most.

And now, you may opine your ass off...

