This Struck Me As Funny

.

For all you oldsters and you know who you are….  

This is a video of the Archies’, “Sugar, Sugar”, from 1969–“The Year of Our Lard”.  It’s sweet enough to give you Type 2 Diabetes.

.
Comment shared by “Jared From The Subway”.
Add one Reggie Mantle as the bass player and you have perhaps the greatest rhthym sections in music at that time or since. These dudes definitely layed it down, thus building the foundation for Archie’s searing riffs and Veronica’s stellar keyboard work.

 
It’s a damn shame.
Sarcasm rocks….not unlike Jughead.

Like the rest of the band members, Reggie was overshadowed by people like John Entwistle, John Paul Jones, Jack Bruce and others.

11 comments

  1. My insulin pump just red-lined.

    Laurie, I had this album when I was a kid. The very same one shown here. My sister and I actually listened to it for a period of time picking it to pieces and making fun of everything in it. I remember telling my little sister that the first female voice in that song was Betty and that the second voice was most definitely Veronica. Only Veronica could have done that part because she was the hot one.

    There is a chance that our Mom may have saved this record. She saves everything. Thanks for the embarrassing memory.

  2. Comment shared by ”Jared From The Subway”.
    “Add one Reggie Mantle as the bass player and you have perhaps the greatest rhthym sections in music at that time or since. These dudes definitely layed it down, thus building the foundation for Archie’s searing riffs and Veronica’s stellar keyboard work.

    Like the rest of the band members, Reggie was overshadowed by people like John Entwistle, John Paul Jones, Jack Bruce and others.
    It’s a damn shame.”

    This just gets funnier the more I read it. Maybe I’ve had too many beers. Maybe I should just stop reading it.

  3. Wasn’t this the first song to be dubbed “bubble music”? It became a huge hit on our radio station. Ahh, the 60s. I remember them well.

  4. I remember this song! Loved it! I downloaded it a few years ago and STILL play it at my house parties. For some reason, it’s one of the few songs that manages to get almost EVERYONE in the house up onto the ‘dance floor’.

  5. They don’t make ’em like that anymore thank god. Oh wait, I think they do. Britney Spears and what’s-her-name blondie chicken-of-the-sea girl who can’t remember her lyrics lately and gets booed and called fat and stuff.

    It was called “bubblegum music” Karol, and if the Archies didn’t set the tone for the genre, then I don’t know who did. The record execs realized that it would take a cartoon band to seriously compete with The Monkees I guess. Gosh I feel sick now.

  6. Well Sister Karol, we damn sure tried to dance to it in the summer of ’72 whenever it was played on “American Bandstand”. I seem to remember giving it an 86 for the beat.

    I have fertile memories of Bubblegum music from 71 and 72. I dedicate all those now lactose intolerant tunes to the MM. I go back and listen to those from time to time, and I feel like I’m happy and safe and secure once again.

    And sometimes, on a good day, I give myself permission to cry over them. It’s cathartic.

    I would think you (and Cheryl) would know about that better than anyone.

    LK

  7. I allow myself to be melancholy when I hear these old songs, too. From my jr high days (Chris) right up to the time before I got married. A few songs remind me of a few people and the eras. I can recall two songs that were popular during a break up I had with my boyfriend. They were so painful to listen to. When I hear them nowadays, I don’t think of the old boyfriend-I think about my pain.

  8. One of my favorite memories is “riding around” and singing at the top of our lungs to the Carpenters (Close to You). I don’t even think you had your license yet when we did that! Flying over the railroad tracks in “skunk”. And I do mean flying!

    I think I still have the songs you sent me on my birthday last year. I am going to listen to them now and remember the good times!

  9. What a great time I had back then. So many memories made with so many people I don’t hear from any more. I did my share of driving around, too. Maybe not with you and Cheryl but Elaine and I put many miles on Eunice. If that machine could talk, I would have been in trouble.

And now, you may opine your ass off...

