LK’s Fave Raves

Well, Oprah does it. So, I thought–why the hell can’t I?

There’s no real rhyme or reason to my current list of “fave raves”. They’re random. Random as hell, in fact.

.

1. Bush’s Baked Beans

And I’m talking about the standard bacon and brown sugar variety. I’ve never been a fan of baked beans (pork and beans as we call it here in Tejas) but Bush’s variety really turned me around. Some friends made a pot full over the July 4th weekend and I was hooked. I jones for these damn things now. Seriously, try a can. They’re really quite outstanding….even while perched atop a truck’s dirty rear bumper.

Don’t ask.

.

2. Minute Maid Light Cherry Limeade

Only ten calories per can but you sure can’t tell. I REALLY like the taste of this stuff. Mix with a little vodka, a couple of ice cubes. Put that bitch in a blender and you have a tasty summer drink that’s not only refreshing, but will help you getcho drunk on.

.

3. Cacao Reserve Truffles by Hershey’s

I have fallen quite honestly, in love with these things. And that’s saying a lot since I’m decidedly NOT a candy lover, but these truffles are very good. I melt them and use them to chocolate up brownies for the Prime Minister. He LOVES the way these brownies taste. The Cacao Reserve makes them rich and robust. Now, take note–using this to flavor brownies is a costly venture. These truffles are far more expensive than the baking cocoa you’d normally use to make brownies, but you can really taste the difference.

We both like the milk chocolate variety. Yeah, know, I know–dark chocolate is so much better for you, but hey, give me milk fats or give me death and from what I hear, they’ll do just that if I keep eating them.

Here’s a pic of what you’re missing…and no, these aren’t “specimens” .

.

4. Narciso Rodriguez For Her

.

He was just an apprentice designer within the hallowed halls of Calvin Klien’s design house, when the late Carolyn Bessette Kennedy, who was doing PR for CK at the time, noticed his work. They became good friends. A few years later, he designed her wedding dress…

And the rest is fashion history.

Now, I’m far too short and too upholstered by time and Twinkies to wear anything in his couture line, but I adore…ADORE his parfum. I wish I could employ Sniff-A-Rama on my blog because this stuff is olfactory ambrosia, people. Next time you’re at Saks Fifth Avenue (that’s the only place I know that sells it), ask for a sample. Spritz some on your wrist or on one of those card sample things and breathe deep the gathering glory.

Narciso Rodriguez For Her: truly a parfum art form.

.

5. Target’s French Terry Bermuda Shorts by Merona

.

These are the best things since sliced bread. I have a pair in just about every color. Why do I like them? Well, they’re $12.99 for starters. They’re also cool, they breathe; they don’t bunch up giving the appearance of ANYTHING remotely resembling a dromedary’s cloven hoof (merciful God!!) plus,  they’re incredibly comfortable. The draw string waist means these are perfect for when I’m retaining water like a reservoir.

I LOVE THESE SHORTS!!!!!

.

6. Music I’m groovin’ to these days include two youngsters I’d never heard of until a few weeks ago.

Irishman, Ronan Keating is rapidly passing Jamie Deen in the top spot for my “Gotta Have Him Rogue’s Gallery of Young, Cute and Famous Men Who Will Never, Ever Love Me”.

He’s young–he looks seven, but he’s adorable cubed and I really love his music.

Here’s “Life Is A Roller Coaster”.

WARNING: This is chick music, but the tune is very catchy.

.

I’ve also fallen in love with the hot, undulating rhythms of singer, Bic Runga. She has one song that I adore. It’s called “Precious Things” and it is hot!! Know what I mean?? I think you do. I couldn’t find it on You Tube, but this song, “Get Some Sleep” will suffice. It’ll give you an idea of her talent.

Both songs are from the album, “Beautiful Collision”.

I love Bic. She’s from New Zealand and she’s Vietnamese or Tahitian or something non-Occidental. All I can tell you is that she’s the coolest singer I know who’s named after a pen.

.

7. My last fave rave for this round is face powder.

But not just ANY face powder. This is Estee Lauder’s Double Wear Stay-In-Place Powder Makeup. It’s got base in it and it covers up a multitude of dermal evils without looking powdery or creasy as some powders are want to do. It’s a bit more expensive than most –$32.50 per compact, but it lasts forever.

I love this stuff because it takes years off my face. I look so much better, not to mention noticeably younger when I wear it. Want proof?

Here’s a shot of me sans the powder:

Notice the rosacea, the blemishes; the almost masculine appearance and of course, the puffy, mottled look of weathered, 49 year old skin.

But when I apply this powder, decades seem to just fall by the way side. A miracle occurs every time.

Here’s me with a fresh coat on my face. I look incredibly young.

.

Estee Lauder’s Double Wear Stay-In-Place Powder Makeup now with SPF 10.

Buy it whereever Estee Lauder is sold.

,

3 comments

  1. I’ve been a Ronan Keating fan for several years. I also like baked beans, truffles, and those shorts. And now I have to venture into the perfume department of a ritzy store to sniff your perfume.

    Because I do everything you tell me to do, Laurie. I, I, I want to be JUST LIKE YOU.

    Seriously.

  2. Hey LK. Love the post, especially since you led with Bush’s baked beans (my fave of all da beans, hands down). Imma also be trying that cherry limeade drink. Perhaps it’ll help me lose my addiction to the Diet Lipton Green Tea.

    Cheers!

And now, you may opine your ass off...

