Q&A

It’s been a while since I’ve left you to your own devices with a question and answer survey. So, here you go. Answer one; answer all of them.

And so will I.

.

1. If you had the entire world’s attention for three minutes and everyone from every country understood every word you uttered in that brief three minute span, what would you say?

.
2. If you could ask God any one question, what would it be?

.
3. If you could be another man or woman for a day, who would you choose? Why?

.
4.  You must die, but you get to choose how you’re going to die. What method of death/dying would you choose and why?

.
5.  You get to spend two days observing a particular historical event of your choosing. Anything..anywhere…at any time. Which event would that be and why?

6.  If you had to choose between a wonderfully romantic and passionate relationship that would end after only a year, or a so-so relationship that would last your entire life, which one would you choose?

.
7.  If you had to choose between love and no money or money and no love for the rest of your life, which would you choose?

.
8.  If you had to choose, would you give up your sight or your hearing? Why?

.
9  If you were asked to speak to every high school graduating class simultaneously, what would tell students?

.

10.  Tell us about the event or events surrounding the biggest life lesson you’ve ever learned.

.

8 comments

  1. Hi Laurie,
    Been lurking on your page for a while now and thought I’d chime in on this one!

    1. If you had the entire world’s attention for three minutes and everyone from every country understood every word you uttered in that brief three minute span, what would you say?

    “Jesus is Lord.” I would quote John 3:16.
    .
    2. If you could ask God any one question, what would it be?

    Why did my father die at 65?
    .
    3. If you could be another man or woman for a day, who would you choose? Why?

    Probably Oprah, because of her vast influence.
    .
    4. You must die, but you get to choose how you’re going to die. What method of death/dying would you choose and why?

    Oh boy, definitely in my sleep…
    .
    5. You get to spend two days observing a particular historical event of your choosing. Anything..anywhere…at any time. Which event would that be and why?

    Easy. Any two days with Jesus when he walked the earth.

    6. If you had to choose between a wonderfully romantic and passionate relationship that would end after only a year, or a so-so relationship that would last your entire life, which one would you choose?

    Been there done that with the wildly romantic. Give me trust, stability, support and mix in some romance for the next 30-40 years.
    .
    7. If you had to choose between love and no money or money and no love for the rest of your life, which would you choose?

    Been in love with money before and it ain’t that bad! Guess I’ll take love…
    .
    8. If you had to choose, would you give up your sight or your hearing? Why?

    Hearing. You can always learn to read lips. I’m 40 so most of the things I see I would be able to interpret.
    .
    9 If you were asked to speak to every high school graduating class simultaneously, what would tell students?

    One day almost everything your folks tried to tell you will make perfect sense. Get your thank you’s and apologies ready, you’re gonna need them!

    10. Tell us about the event or events surrounding the biggest life lesson you’ve ever learned.

    Save for a rainy day, because when it rolls around, it won’t be a sprinkle, it’ll be a down pour!

  2. 1. If you had the entire world’s attention for three minutes and everyone from every country understood every word you uttered in that brief three minute span, what would you say?

    Think. Think before you act and for the love of God, develop a conscience.

    2. If you could ask God any one question, what would it be?

    Why didn’t you create a perfect world?

    3. If you could be another man or woman for a day, who would you choose? Why?

    I’d like to be Anjelina Jolie. Mainly for the hedonistic reason of knowing…even for a little while, what it would be like to look at her; to be that gorgeous. Then, I’d also want to be her just to wrap my head around all the things that swirl through her gray matter.


    4. You must die, but you get to choose how you’re going to die. What method of death/dying would you choose and why?

    As morose as this is, I guess if I knew I had to die at someone else’s hand, I’d like to be shot in the back of the head. By surprise. That way, I’d know death was imminent, I just wouldn’t be able to know when exactly it was happening.

    5. You get to spend two days observing a particular historical event of your choosing. Anything..anywhere…at any time. Which event would that be and why?

    I’d like to be in New York City on the morning of 9/11/01. I don’t know what I could do, if anything but I think I’d like to try to do what I could. Also, it would give me (in amazing Technicolor) all the answers to so many of my questions. I’d hate to think I hate for less than substantial reasons.

    6. If you had to choose between a wonderfully romantic and passionate relationship that would end after only a year, or a so-so relationship that would last your entire life, which one would you choose?

    I’ve spent a lifetime of so so relationships. They are hauntingly mundane. Give me passion and love and incredible romance for a year so I can remember it for the rest of my life.
    .
    7. If you had to choose between love and no money or money and no love for the rest of your life, which would you choose?

    Gimme love. I’d rather be rich with this intangible.
    .
    8. If you had to choose, would you give up your sight or your hearing? Why?

    I’d forfeit my hearing. In my line of work, the two are interchangeable. I’ve always been able to hear what I’ve seen. So if I must lose one, I’d let my hearing go. I’ve already heard some of the most beautiful sounds in the world, but I’ve so much more to see.
    .
    9 If you were asked to speak to every high school graduating class simultaneously, what would tell students?

    Don’t be afraid to lose. That, along with disappointments, are two unavoidable facts of life. It’s OK. Losing is a part of this crazy imperfect world.

    10. Tell us about the event or events surrounding the biggest life lesson you’ve ever learned.

    Don’t buy into the adage that parents’ only want what’s best or you. Some don’t.

  3. Such deep questions, Laurie.

    The answers to questions 1, 4, 5, & 9 are in agreement with Secola.

    2. Why did my daughter die at 18?

    3. Have never really thought about being anyone else, not that I’m perfect.

    6. Have had both and I would prefer a so-so relationship because I feel it’s harder to maintain romance and passion, even for a year!

    7. Definitely money. Love doesn’t pay the taxes.

    8. Hearing

    10. All I can say is to “ask and it shall be received”. i did and He answered.

  4. Boy LK – you really ask the tough ones! I don’t think I can answer them all without spending more time than I’m willing to, at this point, to think it through, but I’ll give most of them a shot.

    1. If you had the entire world’s attention for three minutes and everyone from every country understood every word you uttered in that brief three minute span, what would you say?

    Take care of this planet. Think and live cleaner, greener, healthier. Think of the ecological inheritance you’re leaving your children and grandchildren. It didn’t dawn on my thick skull till I was nearly 50 and looked into the eyes of my precious grandson. If you destroy everything we have, nothing else is going to matter. Not politics, not religion, not sociology, not philosophy, nothing. Take care of where you live first.

    .
    2. If you could ask God any one question, what would it be?

    If you had to take one of my parents, why did it have to be my father? The one who truly loved me – unconditionally?

    .
    3. If you could be another man or woman for a day, who would you choose? Why?

    Faye Kellerman. She lives my dream. She spends her days writing for a living, and getting paid well for it, and she also spends her days married to another writer with whom she’s collaborated. Spending the entire day with the man I love, both of us writing, critiquing, taking breaks to make lunch and make love… nirvana.

    .
    4. You must die, but you get to choose how you’re going to die. What method of death/dying would you choose and why?

    I don’t really have a preference as long as it is fast and peaceful. Not for my sake. For the sake of my baby daughter. I don’t think I could stand lying there in a long, drawn out, painful death watching the look of anguish on her face day after day as she watches her beloved mother slip slowly away from her.

    .
    5. You get to spend two days observing a particular historical event of your choosing. Anything..anywhere…at any time. Which event would that be and why?

    The torment and death of Christ. Maybe if it was burned into my brain in a visual I could never escape, I’d not take it so for granted.

    6. If you had to choose between a wonderfully romantic and passionate relationship that would end after only a year, or a so-so relationship that would last your entire life, which one would you choose?

    Although the so-so didn’t last my entire life, I’ve had both. They’re both painful when they end. I can’t choose here.

    .
    7. If you had to choose between love and no money or money and no love for the rest of your life, which would you choose?

    Love, always and forever love.

    .
    8. If you had to choose, would you give up your sight or your hearing? Why?

    My hearing, I suppose. I’ve lost a goodly portion of it anyway. It’d be tough not to hear the voices of my grandchildren though, or hear their laughter. I can’t imagine never hearing ‘Calgon’s’ soft, sweet voice again either.

    .
    9 If you were asked to speak to every high school graduating class simultaneously, what would tell students?

    The same thing I’d tell the whole world. Make a difference in your environment. All the degrees in engineering and computer science won’t do you a bit of good if we destroy our planet.

    .

    10. Tell us about the event or events surrounding the biggest life lesson you’ve ever learned.

    I still haven’t learned it. Take care of you, first and foremost – cause nobody else can be depended upon to do so.

  5. Hmm…I won’t try to answer them all, but the snap-easy ones were the ones on love: DEFINITELY a passionate relationship for a year that ends…and DEFINITELY love and no money…ya, I’m a sucker for that fuzzy-wuzzy stuff 😉

  6. 1. If you had the entire world’s attention for three minutes and everyone from every country understood every word you uttered in that brief three minute span, what would you say?

    The threat of Global Warming is not true, Bush didn’t lie and God is real.
    .
    2. If you could ask God any one question, what would it be?

    How in the world do You put up with us?

    3. If you could be another man or woman for a day, who would you choose? Why?

    I would be Billy Joel of course–and I would sit at the piano all day and marvel at my talents.

    4. You must die, but you get to choose how you’re going to die. What method of death/dying would you choose and why?

    Tied to a post, covered in honey, stuck in an ant bed–kidding obviously–in my sleep-quick and painless.

    5. You get to spend two days observing a particular historical event of your choosing. Anything..anywhere…at any time. Which event would that be and why?

    I think I would want to go to Iwo Jima during the first 2 days of the invasion and help out. It was such a bloody fight and they could’ve used one more patriotic guy.

    6. If you had to choose between a wonderfully romantic and passionate relationship that would end after only a year, or a so-so relationship that would last your entire life, which one would you choose?

    Gotta go with number 1 on this one–a so-so relationship sucks.

    7. If you had to choose between love and no money or money and no love for the rest of your life, which would you choose?

    Love for sure.

    8. If you had to choose, would you give up your sight or your hearing? Why?

    Hearing–you lose your independence when you lose your sight–and that would kill me.

    9 If you were asked to speak to every high school graduating class simultaneously, what would tell students?

    For the love of God, spend some time focusing on education and a career–don’t do drugs, drink excessively and get pregnant out of marriage.

    10. Tell us about the event or events surrounding the biggest life lesson you’ve ever learned.

    The best ones I can think of are stories they will bury me with so I guess I’ll have to skip this one. 🙂

  7. 1. I’d share my basic philosophy of life… That we are spiritual beings living a human experience; we existed before we were born and will continue to exist after we “die.” Our purpose here, above all else, is to learn about love — both for ourselves and for others. It also counts, in a big way, to expand one’s mind and love learning.

    2. Why does our time here go by so quickly? Couldn’t you have designed lifepsans to be at least double the current number of years? Why couldn’t 80 have been “middle age?”

    3. As imperfect as my life is, and always has been — I have NEVER, even once, wanted to “be” someone else. Not once.

    4. Massive heart attack; here one second, gone the next.

    5. The day WWII was declared over. What euphoria! Additionally, I would’ve liked to have had the personal experience of thanking Harry Truman for making the unbelievably difficult decision to drop the two big ones. His act of bravery saved thousands of American lives including a favorite Uncle who was located on the outskirts of Hiroshima with orders to sail into the heart of battle the very next day. My uncle (who lived a happy 92 years) always said he owed his very life to Harry Truman.

    6. I would rather stay single than opt for either scenario.

    7. FORCED to choose, I’d probably go with love and no money. I’d find a way to MAKE money but it’s usually impossible to create love when it just ain’t there.

    8. Even though I’m a musician, I’d choose to keep my eyesight. As someone else mentioned above, losing one’s eyesight would mean giving up a big chunk of personal independence. Plus, I recall Beethoven wrote some of his greatest works after becoming deaf, as he could still “hear” the music.

    9. Critical thinking is vital to becoming a whole person. Make your OWN choices and never do ANYTHING just because “everyone else” is doing it.

    10. Watching my mother — and later, my beloved brother — die. I purposely CHOSE to learn as much as I could from these two painful experiences. As a result, I’m a much stronger person. They loved life like few others and didn’t want to go! Yet I saw them both eventually “embrace” it. Dying became a welcome friend; somehow natural. I now realize I’ll be able to do the same when my time comes.

  8. You responded to me and made my day, even got me to write another blog, so I wanted to check yours out. Then I saw this and thought I’d like to answer it as well.

    1. If you had the entire world’s attention for three minutes and everyone from every country understood every word you uttered in that brief three minute span, what would you say?

    Be happy and good to your fellow man, woman and child. What is the point of being alive if we cannot enjoy it and those around us? Smile at a stranger. Thank your mother. Call your childhood best friend. Everyone loves to be noticed, even for a second. Hug your mom. Tell your dad you look up to him. Take a friend out for coffee. Share your desert. Tip a little extra. Breath. Play tag. Run. Smell fresh laundry. Forget about who you are and remember who and what you wanted to be. Its never too late to start over, its never too early to begin. Don’t limit yourself to the ordinary, make your life extraordinary. We all have the power to be something great and it can all start by smiling at a stranger.

    2. If you could ask God any one question, what would it be?

    Did you help man invent ear plugs because you were tired of people asking you to let them win the lottery?

    3. If you could be another man or woman for a day, who would you choose? Why?

    I want to say, “I’d be any woman just so I could fathom what goes on in their heads on a daily basis.”

    4. You must die, but you get to choose how you’re going to die. What method of death/dying would you choose and why?

    No joke: I would run butt naked towards a tornado with black marker written on my back “Tag your it” for when who ever finds my dead naked body.

    I’m still not sure what I want to write in marker… but the rest is a definite. If I had incurable cancer, you’ll see me running to the pan handle.

    5. You get to spend two days observing a particular historical event of your choosing. Anything..anywhere…at any time. Which event would that be and why?

    The day the dinosaur’s died out, if and so it happened in a glorious fireball that was a comet ruined them. I really love dino’s ever since I was little. But I’d want to split days in half, and look to the future when we reach the singularity. I know it isn’t historical, but I think it will be once it occurs.

    6. If you had to choose between a wonderfully romantic and passionate relationship that would end after only a year, or a so-so relationship that would last your entire life, which one would you choose?

    No offense, this is the most ridiculous question I have ever heard. I suppose it might be more of a dilemma for others, but romance and passionate are the only way I know and want to know how to be in a relationship. (Well, one of that nature) I won’t let myself be caught into a relationship that is even considered so-so. I vowed to myself to marry once, if at all it happens. If the relationship doesn’t work, then I made a mistake and won’t do it again. I like to go big or go home. Love letters, e-mails, flowers, random trips together. I’d rather be in love with my best friend and have the best year of my life than to settle and submit the mediocrity that fills too many peoples lives. Even if it meant I had to lose her, the memories would never fade.

    7. If you had to choose between love and no money or money and no love for the rest of your life, which would you choose?

    Define no money. Do we get by? I’ll assume that no money means we liver lower class and can just scrape by. I choose love. I enjoy money and I enjoy stuff, but I’ve already once almost sold all my earthly possessions and moved to Key West to sell sandals and hammocks. All I need is enough money to buy drinks and dinner at night. With love, real love you can be creative and not need the glimmer and shine of what some refer to as ‘the finer things’. Sitting on my Italian leather sofa watching a 50″ plasma tv by myself can’t hold a candle to a walk around town holding someones hand who can’t bare to let go for a second, even to hit the cross walk sign.

    8. If you had to choose, would you give up your sight or your hearing? Why?

    This is hard. I consider myself a snob of music. It moves, transforms, creates and when combined with the right visual has an almost orgasmic experience for me. (Danny Boyle, your movies are amazing.) On the other hand, its always been a comfort to me that stroke victims, even if they lose everything else, they never lose the ability to remember music. Which is beyond comforting to me. However, I think I rather lose my hearing. I can always hum in my head but a world without sight seems like a lonely place.

    9 If you were asked to speak to every high school graduating class simultaneously, what would tell students?

    LIVE! Stay up late, blow off a class, spend the extra money, watch a sun set, pee on the double yellow line at 6am. Take your shoes off. Ostracize pants! Put a foot out the window while you drive. Lay in the grass on a sunny day. Stay close to your family, friends and lovers may go but family is forever. Stay in school, never stop learning. IF you’re shy go out, if you’re a party animal stay in. Just once. I spent my entire life trapped inside a shy, dumpy quiet and nerdy kids body. I wasn’t hated, I wasn’t loved, I was just there. I existed among the masses and slipped through the cracks. I did well in school, but poorly in life. I questioned my being, my worth, my life. Then I changed. I decided that the life of hurt and sadness has only prepared me for the future. I had lived in the darkness and it was time to see the light. Meet as many people as you can. Goths, Punks, Jocks, Nerds, Dweebs, Gays, Porn Stars, Teachers, Cops, Parents… talk to them. Learn from them. See that down beyond the clothing and objects we use to define us is flesh and bone. A weak mass that craves to be loved and accepted. Learn from others to make yourself grow into the person you want to be. NEVER. STOP. LEARNING

    10. Tell us about the event or events surrounding the biggest life lesson you’ve ever learned.

    I think I pretty much have had said the answer to this in other questions. The first 16 years of my life were spent in a hell that was unacceptable. Through the pain and anguish that is adolescence I built a resistance and will to burst from the shackles of ordinary that pushed me to want to live nothing less of extraordinary. For every moment I am grateful. I cherish depression and spread joy. I even defined my own person mission statement. “To make someone else’s life better than it was, every day.”

    That can be done with a smile, a hug, a hand shake, a call, an e-mail. The smallest things have the largest impacts. Since I made my decision in 11th grade english to be the complete opposite of what I was, I’ve been nothing but happy and spread it to the people around me.

    There is no one single event that could have more impact on my life that the events and moments that happen now, this moment this instant. Each has its own reaction, and so there in by, I create my story.

And now, you may opine your ass off...

