Everyday Utensils

I have no kids of my own and I do love them—as long as I can leave them in the custody of their parents after a few hours of our being together.

I was at my home of my friend, “Pam the Prolific”. Four male children somehow formed in, then sprouted forth from that tiny, corporeal vessel of hers. I’m amazed when I think about the miracle of birth for this tiny women. But four–count ’em–four boys are her progeny and decent kids, each one of them. Sam is her youngest. He’s almost five and quite bright.

I was told to help myself to a beer in the fridge, so I walked over to the large, LG stainless steel monolith that took up most of the space in the kitchen and noticed on the door there was an array of Sam’s drawings.

One in particular caught my eye…and well, “kept” my eye. I smiled and removed it from the magnet that was keeping attached to the refrigerator door and walked in to the den with it.

“Uh..Pam? Care to explain this drawing and why it’s so prominently displayed on your fridge? And please tell me this IS Sam’s handiwork!”

Pam started laughing. “Yeah, it’s Sam’s drawing and it was so funny, I had to put it in a place of honor.”

“OK, so explain it to me.”

Pam was smiling. “Sam’s kindergarten teacher asked the class to draw things in their kitchen. You know, common utensils and I keep Sam’s safety scissors in the kitchen junk drawer. They’re the little ones with the rounded tips. That’s what he drew; his scissors.”

Then I started laughing. “Pam, it’s lovely, it really is and Sam captured the uh… scissors amazingly well, but may I make a suggestion? If you’re going to keep this on the door of your refrigerator for the world to see, please…PLEASE write the word “scissors” somewhere on the page to explain it to the innocent?”

I handed her a pen and she did just that.

I think you’ll understand why when you see the drawing.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

scissors1.jpg

11 comments

  1. Wow, I am never going to look at my kids’ safety scissors the same way. Don’t even get me STARTED on the glue sticks….

  2. and a heimlich maneuver later to dislodge the sandwhich I half inhaled while laughing at this post, I have to say, thats a wonderful rendition of a pair of scissors

  3. That was a great piece, LaLa.

    My kids would bring home lots of pictures they did in school but none with so “dramatic detail” as this one.

    This had depth and a “vein”.

    Cute.

  4. That was great, I needed that, today was very rough! Thanks, LK. By the way Happy St. Patty’s day or is it St. Patrick Day? Beware of all the green beer a flowing!

  5. Snip…

    Why is the word scissors, and the drawing giving me the heebie jeebies.

    “What was that you said?” “Lorena who?”

And now, you may opine your ass off...

