Your Perspective on YOU

perspective.jpg

Perspective is an interesting thing, don’t you think? One person sees one thing; another person sees something entirely different. Everyone is entitled to his or her own opinion. Everyone is entitled to his or her own perspective.

I lost the Weblog Awards “Funniest Blog ” competition. I was beaten so badly that I’m dogged. So badly that I simply refer to myself as having been “Michael Vick’d”. But although I lost the competition, I gained tens of readers and I’d like to get to know you. I know there are those who don’t leave comments and I understand. But if you could just make the littlest exception in this case.

I’ve devised a little Q&A for you. Ten little questions. Simple, easy…nothing loaded per se. Answer them in the comments section as you see fit. Make them funny, fill them out seriously…. respond in Esperanto, I don’t care.  Just answer the questions.

You might even be surprised by your answers.

I know I will be!

Thanks!

.

1) What were the names you called your paternal and maternal grandparents when you were a child?

2) What is the first name of your very first boyfriend or girlfriend and how old were you at the time you first fell in love?

3) What’s your passion? What would you be doing right now if you were given the option to do anything you wanted and be nicely compensated for it?

4) Who’s you favorite network newscaster?

5) What does love mean to you?

6) Build your own hamburger. Put anything you want on it, put it in anything you want–bun, tortilla, English Muffin. How would you like the meat cooked? And don’t forget toppings, like cheese and condiments, etc.

7) Do you pray? If so, how often and what is your approach to prayer? Do you speak in hushed, reverent tones OR…do you have an open and honest, vernacular laced conversation with your Maker? Lastly, who is your maker? To whom do you pray? Why do you pray????

7.5) What the best advice you’ve ever been given ? Or what’s the best advice you feel that you’ve given someone else?  (I used 7.5 here because my 8 key is attached to some bullshit emoticon and I hate those little yellow bastards!!!)

9) When was the last time you cried and why?

10) Describe yourself in a few words, telling me who you are. No physical description, please. Just who you are in terms of your qualities, values…even your shortcomings if they apply. And of course, we all know they do!!! Brag, be modest. Everything applies.


37 comments

  1. Hi Laurie, Just wanted to be one of your new tens-of-readers, and take your 10 question challenge. OK, here goes.

    1) What were the names you called your grandparents when you were a child?I don’t remember my Grandfather, but Gramma became Big Mommo after I had kids.

    2) What is the first name of your very first boyfriend or girlfriend and how old were you at the time you first fell in love?My first boyfriend was Ray, at about age 8.

    3) What would you be doing right now for a living if you were given the option to do anything you wanted and be nicely compensated for it?I don’t wish to be doing anything different, just to do what I do differently.

    4) Who’s you favorite network newscaster?MMmmmmMatt Lauer…YUMMY!

    5) What does love mean to you?Anymore, I believe love is about respect.

    6) Build your own hamburger. Put anything you want on it, put it in anything you want–bun, tortilla, English Muffin. How would you like the meat cooked? And don’t forget toppings, like cheese and condiments, etc.A well-done burger, on a regular bun. Gimme catsup, onions, pickles, lettuce, maybe a little bit of mayo or mustard, depending on my mood.

    7) Do you pray? If so, how often and what is your approach to prayer? Do you speak in hushed, reverent tones OR…do you have an open and honest, vernacular laced conversation with your Maker?Occasionally I pray, but it’s kinda like a under-the-breath whisper…’pleasepleaseplease’

    7.5) What the best advice you’ve ever been given ? Or what’s the best advice you’ve given someone else?The best advice I ever got was that people don’t go into parenthood intending to mess up their kids. We try to do the best we can everyday.

    9) When was the last time you cried and why?Been a coupla weeks, HisHineAss was extremely rude to me.

    10) Describe yourself in a few words, telling me who you are. No physical description, please. Just who you are in terms of your qualities, values…even your shortcomings if they apply. And of course, we all know they do!!!

    Gosh, that one is hard 1…I am very family orientated. I think my values are probably too high for this world in which I find myself trying to raise 2 teenage boys. I feel as if sometimes I am floundering in this immoral world of today. Jeez, I sound like an old-person, well maybe, I’m all of 42. Also, I am intolerant of people who let their kids run amok. I work in retail, and am very tired of babysitting your kids. See? my moral standards are killing me….need wine….

  2. My perspective is that you’re posting quite a bit for someone who’s taking a sabbatical. 😉

    There might be a 12-step program for i-addicts someplace. ‘cept it’s probably online…

  3. 1. maternal-nanny and grandpa; paternal-mama k and papa sam

    2. first boyfriend-bobby (i held hands with him-my first time with a boy)-5th grade; my first time love experience with Andrew was when i was a sophomore in high school.

    3. no one knows this but i would love to be a big time executive, CEO for some highly successful advertising company

    4. no favorite network newscaster here.

    5. love means being with someone who still makes your knees wobble, your heart beat accelerates and you become mush when he looks at you.

    6. a medium, char-broiled burger with pepperjack cheese, pickles, ketchup, m&m, all on an English muffin

    7. i pray quite a bit. my maker knows me, for sure.

    8. my advice-give up all your troubles to the good lord because no one can help like he can

    9. i was emailed a video about the men and women at war and how they need our spiritual and emotional support

    10. i have a goal in life-i wish i had the financial means to be able to buy a stained glass window for my church and dedicate it to my children. i am family oriented-they mean the world to me. i have no grandchildren or in-laws as yet but i look forward to my family growing in that respect. i have two wonderful siblings who also mean the world to me and when there are times when we can be together, it is cherished-i have shortcomings but they escape me for the moment. as for a description of me? i am caring, nurturing, can be loving, can be sexy, I am private, I don’t have to have friends around me all the time, I can be outspoken but vulnerable. That means I can sometimes be easily hurt, but most of all, i am genuine.

  4. 1) Mom’s- MomMom and PopPop Dad’s- Grandfather and Grandmother

    2)Cassie Carrigan. 18

    3)Probably writing humor and retro review articles

    4)Brian Kilmeade on Fox and Friends

    5)I think it is knowing that life would be incomplete without them and not really remembering how you got along before you met.

    6)Onion soup mix in the meat, A-1 bold sauce, lettuce, tomato, sweet pickles on a regular bun

    7)I do but not as often as I would like. I feel guilty but I usually pray when I get pulled over or if I am late for work. I have a quick conversation to what I envision as the Gary Larson God. You know, white flowing hair and beard?

    7.5)The truth will st you free.

    9)I was a little misty when I finished the last strip of Bill Waterson’s Calvin and Hobbs. It has deep sentimental value to me.

    10)My defense is humor. I like to believe that I am generous and very sensitive to other people’s feelings. As an only child I think I use my imagination in a way most people my age out grew. Patriotism and family are two things that will get me in a position to keel over. I’m scared of doctors and dentists.

  5. 1) What were the names you called your paternal and maternal grandparents when you were a child?
    Mamma Kay and Papa Sam/ Nanny and Grandpa

    2) What is the first name of your very first boyfriend or girlfriend and how old were you at the time you first fell in love?

    Jay Arnold in the 7th grade

    3) What’s your passion? What would you be doing right now if you were given the option to do anything you wanted and be nicely compensated for it?

    I would have loved to have the talent Laurie has in writing-I have a lot to say but I don;t feel that I have skills with which to do it.. I have a lot to offer in the way of life coaching. I can help people decide how to live their lives and what NOT to do with their lives.

    4) Who’s you favorite network newscaster?

    Tom Brokaw

    5) What does love mean to you?

    loving unconditionally no matter how old and fat someone has gotten or how many flaws they have. Love means making the other feel like they’re beautiful and wonderful at the same time.

    6) Build your own hamburger. Put anything you want on it, put it in anything you want–bun, tortilla, English Muffin. How would you like the meat cooked? And don’t forget toppings, like
    cheese and condiments, etc.

    Med. to well done on a toasted seeded bun with nothing but grilled onions and mushrooms-nothing else but this!

    7) Do you pray? If so, how often and what is your approach to prayer? Do you speak in hushed, reverent tones OR…do you have an open and honest, vernacular laced conversation with your Maker? Lastly, who is your maker? To whom do you pray?

    I talk to God like he is in the room with me. I ask questions and sometimes I complain. I also do a lot of thanking-mostly that is expressed first.

    7.5) What the best advice you’ve ever been given ? Or what’s the best advice you feel that you’ve given someone else?

    Best advice-people who make certain choices cause others to make choices, too. Nobody has to be a victim. When something bad is dealt you, you have every right to find the best way you can handle it. I’ve spent too many years not knowing this was my privilege.

    9) When was the last time you cried and why?

    I cried in in agony was over my precious grandbaby’s state of health. Also, for his mother -my daughter. This is a daily prayer. .

    10) Describe yourself in a few words, telling me who you are. No physical description, please. Just who you are in terms of your qualities, values…even your shortcomings if they apply. And of course, we all know they do!!! Brag, be modest. Everything applies.

    I’m a caring person. That’s my personality, but I tend to get too involved with the lives of the people I love. Maybe to the point that I try too hard to help. I’m learning to step away-it doesn’t mean I don;t care, it;s just me trying to relinquish control. I really don’t know how others see me. I spent most of my life being critical of every my every thought and action. This was done to the extent that was incapable of hearing compliments that came my way. Who me?? That nicety couldn’t couldn’t possibly be about me!!

  6. First of all, I think you’re blog is terrific. Because you did not win, I became aware that the Blog Award”ers” … got HACKED! And, got their votes bent all out of shape, because of this hacking! Done, I’m sure, by religious fanatics.

    Not even your normal hackers.

    IF the contest had been fair, then, sure. You’d have had something to quibble about.

    How can you quibble about STOLEN VOTES, done by “bots?” Who found a trap door around the voting rules. Where people could come back every twenty four hours.

    Rotten in Denmark? YOU BET.

    But,meanwhile, I bookmarked your site. And, I keep telling people I know “to go and take a look.”

    Maybe, next year, the Weblog Award People will seriously consider another method of recording votes. Because the SHAM turned into their shame. Not yours!

    Pass the word: The “winners” were not really those blogs that deserved to win. Something like America’s 2000 election.

  7. Here. I’ll give you answers. Now, that I took care of the other business. Telling you that the Weblog votes were skewed. (You deserve an apology from the Weblog folks!)

    1) Because of the Holocaust, my dad’s family were all dead. So, I had a grandma. My mom’s mom. Her dad had died two years before I was born. Jews have shrunken families. In a world, today, where many families are now “small.” Feels weird.

    2) Phil. I was 21. And, didn’t realize that “love” was really a crock. If you go out of your way to “depend on it.”

    3) Being old. And, happy. Like my mom said. When you have enough in the bank, so you can sleep at night. And, not be kept awake by debt.

    4) Don’t watch TV. Just another area where I am really free.

    5) Love means that I can trust another. Didn’t find that it worked out in marriage. And, I have friends just like me. Marriages didn’t work. But life, afterwards, turns out great.

    6) Just the meat. Barely cooked. And, salted. On the softest bun.

    7) No. Always thought it was phoney. People doing it to impress others. But it left me feeling that God isn’t waiting. The Man Upstairs is there. But he has never once talked to a human. My guess is that he’d be over-taxed by all the “requests.” But when we laugh? Or we sing? He kvells.

    7.5, of course, you mean 8) Enjoy life. Life is too short.

    9)When I menstruated. (I’m not kidding. You’d be surprised how nice it is NOT to, anymore.)

    10) Nice. The grey is close to white, now. I’m fatter than ever. How did I add this weight? Must be my brains. I got a lot smarter.

    And, I hung a sign in my kitchen: Being happy doesn’t mean everything’s perfect. It means you decide to see beyond the imperfections.

  8. Wow. It felt good to be exacting…especially to you, Tom!

    Whew! Is it hot in here, or is it you?

    1) What were the names you called your paternal and maternal grandparents when you were a child?
    Gram. Both of ’em.
    *shrugs*
    Sorry.

    2) What is the first name of your very first boyfriend or girlfriend and how old were you at the time you first fell in love?

    I’m gonna skip the adolescent crushes and go right to the good stuff.
    The first gf that I think about in terms of a real gf was Karen. A large, blonde, wholesome-looking girl, with a perverted mind. We were 18, I think. Met in college and had a relationship for several years.

    3) What’s your passion? What would you be doing right now if you were given the option to do anything you wanted and be nicely compensated for it?

    I’d like to write. Freelance, on anything I happened to find interesting. And that would cover a pretty wide range of subjects, too.

    4) Who’s you favorite network newscaster?

    Er… does Tina Fey still do SNL? ‘cos I dont’ watch TV.

    5) What does love mean to you?

    Intimacy – with acceptance and without fear.

    6) Build your own hamburger. Put anything you want on it, put it in anything you want–bun, tortilla, English Muffin. How would you like the meat cooked? And don’t forget toppings, like cheese and condiments, etc.

    The only way to eat real beef is rare. Toss on some swiss or cheddar cheese (sumptin’ with flavor!), red, ripe tomatoe slices, crisp lettuce, fatty bacon strips, my home-made salsa, some Miracle Whip (not just mayo, please), and serve it on a thick, honkin’ whole wheat bun.

    7) Do you pray? If so, how often and what is your approach to prayer? Do you speak in hushed, reverent tones OR…do you have an open and honest, vernacular laced conversation with your Maker? Lastly, who is your maker? To whom do you pray?

    I’m a Taoist (reform, not Orthodox) so prayer is not something that I do. I meditate, and sometimes remember to feel grateful for the good things that have come my way.

    7.5) What the best advice you’ve ever been given ? Or what’s the best advice you feel that you’ve given someone else?

    (7.5???)
    Moderation in all things… including moderation.

    9) When was the last time you cried and why?

    I’m a guy, so I never cry, of course.
    However, tears of frustration, sadness, aggravation, and grief have occasionally surfaced.

    10) Describe yourself in a few words, telling me who you are. No physical description, please. Just who you are in terms of your qualities, values…even your shortcomings if they apply. And of course, we all know they do!!! Brag, be modest. Everything applies.

    Nice. Private. Deep. Competent. Questioning. Accepting. Non-judgmental. Lazy. Witty. Undisciplined. Quiet. Modest (in real life, that is).

  9. me, too. this holiday promises to make some memories for us. it’ll be cold thursday and friday. need to visit the plaza for some holiday cheer. How’s the Prime Minister?

  10. He’s exhausted after buying a new washer and dryer. He’s also still feeling puny. Took to his bed. Haven’t heard from him since early evening.

    You know, I certainly get a whole lot of “Laurie time” in this relationship. A whole lot.

  11. he bought a new washer and dryer? mr domestic. must have been maytag brand if he blew a wad of green.

  12. i just checked the measurements on my muffin pan and it’s 2″ deep x 3 1/2″ wide. what was yours?

  13. i have an LG brand stove/oven i just bought. i saw the price on each and i guess i would have taken to my bed too.

  14. My popover pan is 1 inch across at very bottom of cup–the narrowest point.. Three inches across top at widest point at the top with a depth of 3 inches

    They sound similar. I’ll use both

  15. i took to my bed when i discovered i bought one of the best ice makers made. had no idea ice makers cost that much.

  16. heavens no. i have electric and i didn’t allow for something that big when i remodeled. my next home i will definitely have something like that.

  17. I’m learning all about this stuff. Crash course for The Lauire. The PM does nothing without hefty research. You should’ve seen what he’s done with regard to mother’s TV choices!!

  18. Had, still have, massive flu because of germ laden evil children Laurie, forgive my lack of email please, crawled out of bed to look at the world, your site, while drinking hot black bush to ease my crappitude. Your world looks okay – is foul pineness gone? That was weirdly disturbing, everything else sounded normal for an old broad -hah!

    Looks like you are becoming popular with the masses – you might want to give that a thought.

  19. What were the names you called your paternal and maternal grandparents when you were a child?

    Ouma and Oupa (both sides)

    2) What is the first name of your very first boyfriend or girlfriend and how old were you at the time you first fell in love?

    Ebrahim (I was 19)

    3) What’s your passion? What would you be doing right now if you were given the option to do anything you wanted and be nicely compensated for it?

    I’ve been thinking about this one for a while now. I think I’d like to blog for a living. Seriously.

    4) Who’s you favorite network newscaster?

    I don’t have one in SA and much less in the states.

    5) What does love mean to you?

    Love means kindness, acceptance and tolerance. In that order.

    6) Build your own hamburger. Put anything you want on it, put it in anything you want–bun, tortilla, English Muffin. How would you like the meat cooked? And don’t forget toppings, like cheese and condiments, etc.

    Portuguese roll, lettuce, tomato, fresh avo with a medium to well burger patty.

    7) Do you pray? If so, how often and what is your approach to prayer? Do you speak in hushed, reverent tones OR…do you have an open and honest, vernacular laced conversation with your Maker? Lastly, who is your maker? To whom do you pray? Why do you pray????

    I pray because I believe God listens. I pray to God, the creator of the Universe. And I either go on my knees before I get into bed or talk to God in my head while at work/in the car, etc. God has answered so many prayers of mine, I believe he is a merciful God.

    7.5) What the best advice you’ve ever been given ? Or what’s the best advice you feel that you’ve given someone else? (I used 7.5 here because my 8 key is attached to some bullshit emoticon and I hate those little yellow bastards!!!)

    Listen to your mother. Advice given by my mother.

    9) When was the last time you cried and why?

    I honestly can’t remember.

    10) Describe yourself in a few words, telling me who you are. No physical description, please. Just who you are in terms of your qualities, values…even your shortcomings if they apply. And of course, we all know they do!!! Brag, be modest. Everything applies.

    Intelligent and ambitious. I CANNOT STAND small talk or bad grammar. I’d rather hang out by myself than a room full of celebrities. I get annoyed when I don’t have something to read.

  20. Laurie, I liked your questionaire. I thought that more would have taken it though. I think things like this are good for the soul. Yes, I’m excited about this week, too. It will be interesting to say the least. Just two days of work for me and we’re outa here! See you tonmorrow night. Drive safely.

  21. A questionnaire? I LOVE questionnaires! (And quizzes too… it’s a sickness, really).

    1) What were the names you called your paternal and maternal grandparents when you were a child?

    Maternal was “Grammie & Grampie”; paternal was “Nanny & Grampie”

    2) What is the first name of your very first boyfriend or girlfriend and how old were you at the time you first fell in love?

    Troy. He was a bad-ass. I was 13.

    3) What’s your passion? What would you be doing right now if you were given the option to do anything you wanted and be nicely compensated for it?

    Concert pianist. Or owning an after-school music studio for kids.

    4) Who’s you favorite network newscaster?

    Lloyd Robertson.

    5) What does love mean to you?

    Love is being open and honest, regardless of the subject matter. Love is respect, giving and receiving. Love is wondering how you would get through one day without them.

    6) Build your own hamburger. Put anything you want on it, put it in anything you want–bun, tortilla, English Muffin. How would you like the meat cooked? And don’t forget toppings, like cheese and condiments, etc.

    Mine is a veggie burger on a fresh kaiser bun, with sauteed mushrooms and sweet onions, and swiss cheese

    7) Do you pray? If so, how often and what is your approach to prayer? Do you speak in hushed, reverent tones OR…do you have an open and honest, vernacular laced conversation with your Maker? Lastly, who is your maker? To whom do you pray? Why do you pray????

    I believe in an open and honest conversation with my maker. Bended knee and closed eyes not required. I haven’t really figured out *who* I pray to yet and I’m fine with that.

    7.5) What the best advice you’ve ever been given ? Or what’s the best advice you feel that you’ve given someone else? (I used 7.5 here because my 8 key is attached to some bullshit emoticon and I hate those little yellow bastards!!!)

    It’s as simple as “be yourself”. I was a self-conscious kid and it took a lot to drill that one into me. When you decide that “you” is good just the way it is, you can live more freely.

    9) When was the last time you cried and why?

    Last week. Why? Nicotine withdrawal was the trigger. I think someone looked at me sideways.

    10) Describe yourself in a few words, telling me who you are. No physical description, please. Just who you are in terms of your qualities, values…even your shortcomings if they apply. And of course, we all know they do!!! Brag, be modest. Everything applies.

    I am a smart woman that knows exactly what she wants and has little patience for the bullshit surrounding it. I am open, sometimes brutally honest. I am adventurous and love trying and learning new things. I am not a loner but not one for crowds either. I would rather curl up to a book or a movie than go to a party.

  22. 1) What were the names you called your paternal and maternal grandparents when you were a child?

    Memaw and Papaw, Granny and Granddaddy.

    2) What is the first name of your very first boyfriend or girlfriend and how old were you at the time you first fell in love?

    First “girlfriend” was Stacy, when I was three years old. First real girlfriend was Theresa, in ninth grade.

    As for “love”, if you mean when I first thought I was “in love”, the answer is “See Theresa, ninth grade”; but if you mean when I was definitely in love, I would say when I was 18.

    3) What’s your passion? What would you be doing right now if you were given the option to do anything you wanted and be nicely compensated for it?

    Writing in general, blogging in particular.

    4) Who’s you favorite network newscaster?

    Don’t have one. I think they all suck.

    5) What does love mean to you?

    Too deep for me to get into here.

    6) Build your own hamburger. Put anything you want on it, put it in anything you want–bun, tortilla, English Muffin. How would you like the meat cooked? And don’t forget toppings, like cheese and condiments, etc.

    Whole grain bun. Double beef patties, cooked medium. Chili, smoky cheddar cheese, mustard, pickles, diced sauteed onions.

    7) Do you pray? If so, how often and what is your approach to prayer? Do you speak in hushed, reverent tones OR…do you have an open and honest, vernacular laced conversation with your Maker? Lastly, who is your maker? To whom do you pray? Why do you pray????

    I pray to God (Christian God) whenever the mood hits me. Sometimes aloud (when I’m driving), sometimes quietly. I don’t use “thee or thou”. I just converse.

    7.5) What the best advice you’ve ever been given ? Or what’s the best advice you feel that you’ve given someone else? (I used 7.5 here because my 8 key is attached to some bullshit emoticon and I hate those little yellow bastards!!!)

    I’ve been given so much good advice (some of which I ignored, to my peril) that it’s hard to remember them all. If I were forced to pick just one, I would say quite simply: Never settle. Don’t settle for a lousy or substandard job, education, spouse/partner, or just mediocrity in general. Strive for perfection, and you will achieve excellence.

    9) When was the last time you cried and why?

    In church on Sunday. A woman was saved by God, despite her recurring cancer and health problems.

    10) Describe yourself in a few words, telling me who you are. No physical description, please. Just who you are in terms of your qualities, values…even your shortcomings if they apply. And of course, we all know they do!!! Brag, be modest. Everything applies.

    Simple guy, not many hang-ups, but lots of big dreams.

  23. 1. Gramma, Grampa, Nan.
    2. Amy. I was 11.
    3. Music and writing are my passions. I would be the Scott Weiland. Charismatic, not very gifted vocally.
    4. There’s this girl that does local news here in Grand Junction. She’s hot. She makes me want to watch the news once a week. Can’t remember her name. Oh, wait, I remember it, it’s Hot News Girl.
    5. Love is the realization that no one is perfect. Love is tolerance. Love is acceptance. Love is a cruel trick to encourage procreation and His/Her towels and robes. Love is one nasty, manipulative bitch. One nasty, manipulative, yet very necessary bitch.
    6. Bun (like the buns at Fuddruckers), meat is medium rare, cheddar, bacon, jalpenos, ketchup, mustard.
    7. I don’t pray. I hope for things, but I don’t pray. I’m not willing to commit to any one deity because I haven’t found one that I can commit to. I’m waiting for a better story. Sorry, God, Allah, L. Ron. No I’m not. Your fan clubs scare me.
    7.5. ” If you’re honest, you don’t have to remember much”. Thanks, Dad. I’m working on it.
    9. A week ago. My impending divorce and the death of my sex life were mourned.
    10. I’m the greatest guy I’ve ever met. I’m also the worst guy I know. I have a broken moral compass. I’m a great father. I probably drink more than I should. I’m too sensitive. I’m a fucking robot. I’m a walking, talking trainwreck held together by scotch tape. You don’t have to love me, but you will find something in my character that you will like. I can always be meaner. I couldn’t be any more angry. Don’t let me near your garbage or your daughter. I’m not violent. I am ultraviolent. I don’t hit women. I will hit a man if he doesn’t treat a lady like a lady. I open doors, use sir and miss, help everyone I can to offset the horrible things I have done and may do in the future. I love me. I dislike me sometimes but understand that my negative features are necessary to complete my being. Maybe I just embrace them a little more than I should.

  24. Hell, I’ll give it a whirl.

    1) Gramma and grandpa. I rarely saw my dad’s parents, so if I was talking about them I’d tack on their last name.

    2) Hm. Michael Costa. I didn’t love him tho- I loved a Justin Walker when I was 16.

    3) Creatively design characters for videogames and animation.

    4) I don’t watch the news anymore. When I did, it was Dennis Richmond.

    5) Love means you can be your dorky self around the coolest person in the world, and they think you’re cool.

    6) Mm. Finely ground beef, medium rare, Bbq sauce and american and cheddar cheese, and mayo and small but juicy tomatoes, and some crisp butter lettuce on a potato kaiser roll.

    7) I don’t pray as often as I used to. I think that God knows when I need help- his all-knowing self should know what I’m thinking before I think it. He will provide me with what I need before I know I need it. I only pray in the direst of circumstance- no need to clog the direct line when he knows already. I also believe that there IS one god, but every religion is right- worship God in any way you wish, so long as you revere his creation.

    7.5) Keep On Truckin’. I know it sounds uber-lame, but sometimes you just gotta motor through the hard stuff.

    9) The last time- I think I cried when Wicket died. Either that or the ending to “30 days of night” but that’s SO less substantial. I don’t cry often… unless it’s unrequited love. that shit KILLS me.

    10) I’m quiet and standoffish- to keep myself safe from pain.
    I keep alot inside, but am able to bare portions of my soul to get my point across.
    I jump a wide chasm between insanely selfish and monumentally emphathetic.
    I am an artist becuase it keeps the voices to a minimum.

  25. 1.Maternal: Mem-ma and Pep-pa
    Fraternal: Grandma and Grandpa

    2. Lisa-15

    3. I would love to play piano at a nice restaurant in the evenings and act on stage during the day (umpire baseball during baseball season) and be able to write–really well.

    4. I hate network newscasters-truly–love Glenn Beck though.

    5. It means being willing to give all of yourself to someone else even if they do not do the same in return.

    6. White seeded bun with mayo, pepper jack cheese, 1/4 lb medium well buffalo meat, grilled mushrooms, avacado and black olives.

    7. yes, not often enough, to God and my prayers are very conversational yet reverent.

    7.5. To swirl strong Red wines before drinking them–and—to always try and choose to find the joy in everything so that others feel it from you.

    9. I cried in Church a few weeks ago when we listened to a mom talk about her son that she lost in Iraq.

    10. Outgoing-opinionated; loyal; good in crisis situations (either mine or others); friendly with few real friends; future driven, a good dad (I hope) and on an earnest desire to find the comedy in everything. I’m an artist at heart and a stone-cold conservative at brain.

  26. oh man lady, you asked for it.
    and from someone who loves nothing more than ranting about herself (moi)….grab a cuppa…

    1) -gram and grampa and grandma (ok, admittedly boring)

    2)-ok, no names, but initials were G.C. and it was kindergarten. although he had no idea he was my boyfriend. this is an ongoing recurring theme in my relationships.
    -real love? probably 15. although if it hasn’t lasted, I don’t count it as real.

    3)-easy peasey…photographer/writer

    4)-Jon Stewart…

    5) -acceptance, patience, lust, friendship, letting them see you pee

    6)-med-rare, soft kaiser bun, blue cheese/brie, lettuce, tomato, dijon mustard, pickles on the side…damn I’m hungry now

    7) -does talking to myself saying ‘oh god why?’ count???

    7.5)
    -best advice received:’you are cool, don’t you ever forget that’
    -best advice given:’get back into bed’

    9) -this morning, thinking of an impossible situation that I won’t get into, but suffice to say it involves distance

    10)
    -overly sensitive, overly talkative, smart arse, loyal, overly sexed (mentally not physically dammit), romantic, jaded, fun, laugh’s easily, cries easier (perhaps manic-depressive???), falls easily,lazy, neurotic, empathetic, good listener, good talker, very selective in friendships, persistent, whiny, strong…and mostly nutter

    thanks! this was cathartic…who should I make the cheque out to?

  27. 1) Grandma and grandpa

    2) Abbie at age 16?

    3) I would be a modelmaker in a museum?

    4) Walter Cronkite

    5) Doing things you’d never do for anyone else, and not doing things you’d rather be doing

    6) Medium rare, salted and cooked with Worcestershire sauce, with thin slices of yellow onion, a thick slice of beefsteak tomato, real cheddar cheese and brown mustard, on a big Bunny Bread bun. And fries on the side.

    7) I don’t pray. I ask to find whatever inside me it takes to do what must be done and to accept whatever happens. I truly believe that most organized religions cover the truly mystical aspects of existence with fairy tales designed to trivialize the mystical. I believe that simply seeing the sun rise and set has to make you believe that there is some greater power, force or entity. I believe that Jesus was a good man and thta the Sermon on the Mount is one of the greatest visions never followed on how we should live our lives.

    8) Leave it in better condition than you found it.

    9) 16 years ago when the doctor told us there was a chance our son might be born severely retarded – he misinterpreted a test result.

    10) I’ve never reached what I’ve been told is my potential. I can hold a grudge for years, or I can be loyal to a fault. I detest people who want to be bosses but who never accept the responsibility of leadership. I try to take care of those in my charge. I constantly self-criticize. I’m cynical. I detest false sentimentality, but I’m sentimental to a fault. I believe that, no matter how bad things are, they’re no different than past bad times. I like to talk about damn near anything. I like to learn. I like to teach. I like to be by myself. I’m terse and I’m long winded.

And now, you may opine your ass off...

