My Thoughts On…

   

small-town-life-logo111.jpg

I’ve known my friend, Cheryl forever.  A while back, she  sent me this list of things universal to growing up in a small town.   I read it with a smile.  Seems that the ways and means of life in a small town are fairly universal.  

It didn’t get much smaller than my hometown, Karnes City, Texas. The population when I was a resident back in the early to mid 70′s was about 3000, give or take a few large Catholic families moving in or out.

Growing up in Karnes City has had such an impact on my life. It’s vast limitations forced me to think outside the box. It made me hungry to learn more and to definitely seek what was  beyond its five mile circumfrance.   I left at age 18, two days after graduating from High School and for the most part, never went back.  I’ve returned infrequently for funerals and the occasional family or class reunion, but other than that, I’ve stayed away.    But because of some family business,   I went back a few weekends ago.  I looked around me and realized that I was a stranger in a strange land.  Everything was familiar, but it wasn’t.  Still, I suppose because of memories, a chunk of me  will always remain   That’s why I’m still amazed when people tell me they’re surprised when I reveal that I’m a product of small town life, culture, education…everything.

Could I have identified with the list you’re about to read,  had I been born and raised in Dallas? Atlanta? L.A. or Chicago? I’m not sure, but growing up in Karnes City has allowed me to completely relate to its contents.  It would be just as recognizable to anyone else who had the same experiences. It’s universal. Here in the States…in Canada. Maybe even in the U.K., Australia.

Maybe even California, too.

I added a few nuances of my own, based on my experiences, but if you’ve ever lived or spent much time at all in a small town, you’ll know exactly what this list is talking about.

All 33 items on this list are sublimely recognizable.

1. You can name everyone you graduated with.Some of these kids you went to school with for 12 consecutive years…13 if that includes Mrs. Porter’s Kindergarten for Young White Children of Upwardly Mobile White Parents.

2. You know what 4-H means though I’m not sure I do, actually. It has something to do with horses…THAT, I know.     And you also know all about the FFA (Future Farmers of America or the Ag Boys).  Members were easy to spot in a crowd, especially if  they wore those dark blue and gold jackets.  

3. You went to beer parties in a pasture, barn, someone’s abandoned farm house, a gravel pit or under the power lines or in the middle of a dirt road. On Monday, you could always tell who was at the party because of the scratches on their legs from running through the woods when the party was busted. (See #6.)

4. You used to ride around incessantly in someone’s car and you’d drive by your friend’s houses and honk.If you were a guy and pissed or holding a grudge, you’d peal out or burn rubber in front of the person’s house.You’d get in trouble when you got home because invariably, the parents of the source of your anger called your parents and told on you. You got grounded.

5. You whispered the ‘F’ word six miles away from your home with the nearest person standing 10 feet away and somehow, your parents knew about it within the hour.  You got grounded.

6. Your class was usually so small…as was your high school–that you couldn’t help but date a friend’s ex-boyfriend or ex-girlfriend. Skewed incestuousness.

7. You could never buy cigarettes because all the store clerks knew how old you were (and if you were old enough, they’d tell your parents anyhow. Besides, where would you get the money? If you were a Kendrick girl growing up in Karnes City, you just charged it and the clerks either didn’t care or just assumed they were for our smoke belching, lignite plant mother)

8. When you did find somebody old enough and brave enough to buy cigarettes, you still had to go out into the country and drive on back roads to smoke them. If an adult saw you, they’d call your parents and you’d get grounded

9. You knew which section of the ditch you would find the beer your buyer dropped off.    The same applies to a bag of pot which back then, we called “lids”.

10. It was cool to date somebody from the neighboring town. You had to. Hell, by Junior High and 7th grade, you’d already “gone with” every boy or girl in your class.

11. The whole school went to the same party after graduation.

12. You didn’t give directions by street names but rather by references. Turn by Nelson’s house, go two blocks to Anderson’s, and it’s four houses left of the lot where Old Man Wilson’s cow had that two headed calf.

13. The golf course at the country club, providing your community even had one, had only 9 holes. Serious golfers had to play them twice to get 18 holes in.

14. You scheduled parties around the schedules of different police officers, because you knew which ones would bust you and which ones wouldn’t. When someone’s parents went out of town, that automatically meant party.   When they got home andf found out about it, you guessed it—you got grounded.

15. Your car stayed filthy because of the dirt roads, and you will never own a dark vehicle for this reason.

 16 The town next to you was more than likely your chief sports rival and your school hated them and they hated your town; your school.You probably even considered the whole community ‘trashy’ or certainly beneath you, but in truth, it was a town no different than your own.

17.  You referred to anyone with a house newer then 1960 as  ‘rich’ people.

18. The people in the ‘big city’ dressed funny and were snooty.   Then ,you picked up the trend yourself  four years later when you moved to the big city after college and got all snooty and dressed funny.

19. Anyone you wanted could be found hanging out at the local gas station or the dairybar. And these “dairybars’ were all locally owned, usually Mom and Pop operations. Glorified hamburger shops with a juke box on premises or at the very least–if progressive enough, rock music piped in from the cool radio station based in the closest biggest town. These places had names like The Diary Whip, KenKreme, The Snack Shack, Bob’s Truck Stop and The Green Diamond.    And of course, for kids in Karnes County,  there was Tino’s.

20. Our parents hung out at private clubs because chances are your county was dry when it came to liquor by the drink.For Daddy to get his Scotch neat, he’d have to go to the K Club or the Karnes County Country Club.

21. You saw at least one friend a week driving a big tractor through town or one of your friends driving a grain truck to school occasionally.  You never thought a thing about it.

22. The gym teacher suggested that guys haul hay for the summer to get stronger. Plus, you know what Coastal Bermuda is and have one more than one occasion, simply called it “Coastal”.

23. Directions were given using THEE stop light as a reference.And that was only if your town was cosmopolitan enough to actually have a stop light.

24. No matter what the actual street was named, the one that went through the center of town was ALWAYS referred to as “Main Street”.   And when you heard your mom and grandmother reference “going to town”, that meant they were going shopping on Main Street.  Plus kids who grew up in small town back in the 60′s actually knew what a sundry shop was.

25. Your teachers called you by your older siblings’ names.

26. Your  teachers remembered when they taught your parents.

27.  You could charge at any local store by just saying “charge it”–no need for metal “charge a plate”. Additionally, one could write checks without any ID.  Half the time, you didn’t need a checkbook.Most stores allowed you to write generic checks and all you needed was a signature…no account number was even needed.   A book of generic checks lived by almost every cash register in town.   It made sense;  there was  just one bank in town and your parents were social with the owner/president.

Hi ya, Hugh Bennett!!!

28. There was no McDonald’s. In fact, up until the early 70’s, no national chains existed in small town America.    Diary Queen came to KC in late 1972.  

29. The closest mall was over an hour away.   The nearest airport was a little farther.

30.  It was normal to see an old man riding through town on a riding lawn mower. Or in Rat Jefferson’s case, a mule drawn gut wagon.

31 .You’ve lived in a small town if you’ve peed in a corn or cotton field…more than once.

All your needs were right there.  And what you couldn’t get, we got in San Anonio, sopme 50 miles away.   But we were self contained, for the most part.

There was one pharmacy.

One dry cleaner.

One sundries shop.

One grocery store.

One butcher shop.

Maybe a Ben Franklin’s Five and Dime store

One barber shop

A beauty salon or two for the ladies

Weller’s…a beer joint. 

Reggie’s,too for the more discrimminating beer drinker.

And only a hand full of cafes or restaurtants with limited menus and strict hours of opertation.  And  when you decided to walk somewhere for grins or exercise, at least five people would pull over and ask if you wanted a ride.

32. My father drove a regulation Texas pick-up. Almost all of his friends did too. In each one was the Easy Rider Rifle Rack with at least three fully loaded bolt action hunting rifles suspended by hooks. It was also nothing at all to hear gunshots go off at various part of town. That meant someone was shooting at birds, a woodpecker chomping on part of his house or a rattlesnake that had the misfortune of crossing the road in front of any one of about 1700 sanguine necks that lived in my hometown.

33. You left your keys in your car both at home and when shopping in town.  And not only that,  you never locked the doors of your house because crime was unheard of..there was the occasional bike theft…kids would toilet paper a house or when the football team played their rivals there was the mandatory YOUR TEAM SUCKS grafitti sprayed on overpasses but other than that, crime wasn’t an issue……unless of course,  two brilliant High School boys decided to place a homemade bomb in a locker.

Why?  

That’s what you do when you’re intelligent, well read, curious about the ramifications of felonious behavior as a juvenile, bored and stuck living in the limited confines of a small town and mad at some guy in your history class.

That sounds like reason enough to blow up his damn locker.

Wow.   I just realized that Karnes City had Jihadi, before Jihadi was a part of our daily lexicon.

How progressive.

 

29 comments on “My Thoughts On…

  1. abarclay12 says:

    I like that you can’t help but date your friend’s ex. That’s because there’s no one else out there??

    Have you ever written a book LK?

  2. pistolpete says:

    I moved from the small town of Nineveh, Indiana to the thriving shopping-mall suburb of Greenwood just before high school. Still, I dated my friends ex’s. We just had to swap seats in the car on the double date and – off we went.

  3. [...] My Thoughts On… [...]

  4. notfrommars says:

    It’s funny how universal this is, cause this is definitely the town I lived in when I lived in Ohio…well, if you add some Amish with their horse and buggy. Then it’s perfect.

  5. andy in alvin says:

    yep…raised in danbury, tx [pop. 610, back then...now 612]

  6. Kris says:

    It’s even universal to Canadians. Except we would also add to the list

    33) Remember getting pulled out of school for 2 weeks in October in order to help Paw bring in the Maple Syrup harvest?

    and

    34) Training polar bears to go to the beer store and bring us back our Molson Canadian.

  7. andy in alvin says:

    we got out of school to harvest rice

  8. Ah yes…Molson Canadian: 6-percent alcohol.

    I used to date a ridiculously tall guy from Calgary. Went up there to visit him. How I remember your deliciously potent Canadian beer.

    Best part of the trip

    LK

  9. Rick says:

    4H was “Health, Husbandry, Hygene… ?” Something weird like that. Horse wasn’t in it.

    OK, I looked it up: “Head, Heart, Hands, and Health”

    I just remember it was the farm kids who had the blue jackets with the giant clover on the back, like some redneck gang (and they did all own horses). My hands were way too soft to ever even think of joining.

  10. Allen says:

    Hah! You know you’re in a small western town, when they have a hitching post at the one and only steakhouse.

    And, they know your horse’s name.

  11. Kris says:

    4H = redneck gang

    lol

  12. LK: Grew up in El Campo, Texas–and I was the only Protestant kid at the private Catholic Elementary School–everytime I sneezed someone across town called my mom to tell her to tell me “God Bless You”

    I hated it!

    -Murphy

  13. Greg says:

    I remember cruising around town all night looking for friends. But when we really needed to stay away from the cops we would either go to the beach or find a little valley in the cliffs along the bay. In both cases we would start a huge fire and party until dawn. Our parents couldn’t smell anything on us but bonfire smoke the next day.

  14. I moved back to my small town so I can definitely relate to this stuff. Gotta love small town Canada too… and our deliciously potent beer!

    Kris, my #33 would be “remember being pulled out of school for two weeks to pick/harvest potatoes for the local farmers”. Every kid got out of school for ‘potato break’!

    My after-prom party was at a big potato barn called ‘the dome’.

    You had a golf course? Wow! My town still has no stop light but it does have a Tim Horton’s so we’re moving up in the world. Slowly.

    Even now, I rather frequently find myself in situations that require a graceful squat in a cornfield.

    Make that a potato field.

    And the ‘graceful’ part depends on how much of that potent beer I’ve been drinking.

  15. Karol says:

    I remember the Midway fondly and Wofford’s Crossing, Tino’s and the golf course. What memories!!!!!!

  16. Billy says:

    Wow, that list makes me wish I wasn’t such a city boy. I did live in a one horse town when I was in the Army. That is until a Walmart was built. There goes the town.

  17. cheryl says:

    When I read this email it brought back a lot of fond memories and some not so fond memories. My how things have changed in good ol KC. It is not like it used to be.

    Remember how we used to ride around in “skunk” and sing “Close to You” by the Carpenters. Our hang out was the DQ parking lot. We thought we were so cool! Well actually “We” were!

  18. Karol says:

    remember driving around graham road consistently. why? i don’t know. guess for someplace to drive. my class didn’t hang out at the dairy queen. i don’t remember hanging out anywhere, really.

  19. Nigel says:

    I haven’t read this post…I haven’t read any of the comments…

    Been busy. Can’t wait to catch up on my Laurie Kendrick.

    Yo’ sho’ are prolific…

  20. cheryl says:

    Oh and the Sat. night dances. I remember taking friends from Corpus Christi to Panna Maria, they had a blast in the sticks.

  21. Nigel says:

    I think it’s amazing that Monica Lewinsky and Linda Tripp hang out at your blog…

    Just so you know, Cynthia McKinney and Amanda Marcotte are notorious for commenting over at Six Meat Buffet…

  22. Karol says:

    murphy,

    where did you go for entertainment in that area? eagle lake or garwood? hahahahhaha

  23. christine says:

    I grew up in Houston, but, if you lived in front of Hobby Airport, you were considered out in the sticks. The best fun we had out there, was driving from one Prince,s drive -in to anoher (all over Houston) which was about 4 0r 5 of them. Plus, those drive-in movies, were the best!

  24. Joe Drinker says:

    Wow. I thought I lived in a small town growing up, but compared to these stories it sounds like the NYC.

  25. sarajane says:

    Karol, you and I frequented the same places growing up. I hadn’t thought about Wofford Crossing in FOREVER. And Graham Rd. …

    Laurie, your list is pretty much how I’ve told my boys about my growing up..minus a few details.

  26. Fannysu says:

    Sure this makes me remember the town I live in now, so things haven´t changed much here, you see maybe in 60 years my daughter would be blogging about it.

  27. Paul says:

    So that was Karol’s beer we used to find in the ditch of the dirt road by our house.

    We did our underage drinking on the old Kenedy Hiway…….sometimes near the flax plant.
    Remember the conflagration…..national news…..well, at least San Antonio television, anyway.

    ***

    Hey Paul,

    I DO remember that fire. I remember hearing the sirens during mass on Sunday morning.

    Hope you’re well.

    LK

  28. Soylent Ape says:

    My small town childhood experience was tempered by living in a couple of very dense metro areas. I remember how my friends would suggest what we would do for fun on Friday night. It often broke down into three general responses:

    1. “Let’s walk down to the mall and see who’s there.” (Suburban Atlanta)
    2. “Let’s take the subway to Yonge Street and hang out at the all-ages clubs.” (Suburban Toronto)
    3. “Let’s drive down to the river bank and raise hell!” (Rural Mingo County, WV)

    One thing that I found fascinating was that kids in the suburbs/urban areas often had a range of concerts, movies, sporting events, retail outlets, and other attractions at a figurative arm’s length. In a small town with limited amusements, you are forced to make your own fun.

  29. Molly R says:

    Laurie,
    How could you forget the small town newspaper? When was the last time you read every detail of a wedding including the length and fabric of the veil and who served coffee? Remember seeing those big tents go up for a tent revival?

And now, you may opine your ass off...

